The FIDLab is a working space for film projects selected in response to an international call for entries. Each year, around a dozen projects are selected, regardless of format, length or subject, whether fiction, documentary, animation or series, at the writing, development or post-production stage.

The platform was created to offer project promoters the opportunity for dynamic meetings with producers, support funds, broadcasters, distributors, vendors, TV… The FIDLab is positioned as both a talent scouting space and a showcase in terms of the diversity welcomed, and has become an internationally recognised label.

The 16th edition of FIDLab will take place on Thursday 27 and Friday 28 June 2024, in the heart of FIDMarseille (25 – 30 June 2024).

Selected Projects

Stéphanie Roland

Chloé Galibert-Lainé

Dan Sallitt

Paula Rodríguez Polanco

Riar Rizaldi

Advik Beni & Nehal Vyas

Leonardo Mouramateus

Katsuya Tomita

Ra Di Martino

Awards

FIDLab is happy to strengthen its mission of support with 10 different in-kind grants, to be awarded by the jury.

A Fabrica award

Access to sound editing and|or sound mixing studios in Corsica for a project produced or coproduced by a European company.

Casa de Velázquez / Impulso ECAM Award

A two-month residency at the Casa de Velázquez in Madrid. ECAM presents the Impulso ECAM prize providing the winner with tailored advice to strengthen and refine their project.

Commune Image Award

8 weeks of editing for a project produced or co-produced by a European production company.

Culori Award

A post-production laboratory in a residency in South Corsica for a maximum of 15 days, to carry out color grading work on a 4K monitor with (or without) dedicated technicians.

Camargo Foundation Award

4 to 8 weeks residency in Cassis for the awarded director.

 

Kodak-Silverway Award

Kodak and their development by Silverway Paris for a project produced or coproduced by a European company.

Label 42 Studio Award

New award provided by Label 42 Studio, a laboratory and post- production studios in Marseille, which will offer either 1 week of color grading on a cinema projector or 1 week of Dolby Atmos mixing (excluding technician)..

Préludes Award

Residency for a first film project, in a chalet in the Rhône-Alpes region, including full board as well as the use of an editing station.

Sublimages Award

Translation | adaptation and subtitling localization of the prize- winning project into English, French or Spanish.

Vidéo de Poche Award

Color grading (7 days at a studio without a technician) and creation of a DCP. Special rates for the creation of a DCP to all the selected projects.

And also collaborations with

DA FILMS - VOD Platform Award

DAFilms.com (Doc Alliance Films) will offer an in-kind package of distribution worth €5000 to one of FIDLab’s selected projects (a first or second feature film). It covers a full release on DAFilms (including Americas, Europe, Asia), the VOD platform of Doc Alliance, for two years.

Nebulae / Doclisboa Award

One of the FIDLab selected projects will be selected and included in the 2024 edition of the DocLisboa coproduction platform.

Jury

Joaquim Jordà Residency

For the second year, FIDMarseille, DocLisboa, and Museo Reina Sofía are partnering to present a new residency program named in honor of the Spanish filmmaker Joaquim Jordà. The two awarded artists of this residency are invited to present their projects during the 16th edition of FIDLab.

Richard Shpuntoff

Serge Garcia

CZECH FOCUS

Since 2019, the FIDLab highlights a focus on a country, inviting a delegation of producers to showcase their current projects and expand their professional network at the very core of FIDMarseille. After Bulgaria, Greece, Belgium, Portugal and Lithuania, for the 16th edition of FIDLab we are thrilled to welcome the Czech Focus. This section is organized with the support and close complicity of APA, the Audiovisual Producers ́ Association, a crucial actor in the Czech Republic cinema industry. Among their members, three production companies are invited to attend the FIDLab upcoming edition in order to represent the promising contemporary Czech production. Vít Janeček, APA representative will also join the delegation. The focus is also organized with the support of the Centre culturel tchèque à Paris and in association with the Czech Film Fund and the Ji.hlava Film Festival.

Alžběta Janáčková
Producer

Based in Prague, Czech Republic, Silk Films is an independent film production company dedicated to progressive authors’ projects and appealing stories. Being driven by two determined and enthusiastic female producers with various backgrounds Silk Films has produced so far many documentaries, which were presented internationally: Karlos (dir. Michal Samir, 2024),  More Miko (dir. Robin Kvapil 2022) or The Law of Love (dir. Bara Chalupová, 2021), co-produced feature films Oxygen Station  (dir.Ivan Tymchenko, 2023) or Mirrors in the Dark (dir. Šimon Holý, 2021), created a popular web series for Czech Television Rapstory (dir. Šimon Šafránek, 2021) and many others projects.

Matěj Paclík
Producer

Breathless Films is an independent production company based in Prague founded by producer Matěj Paclík prioritising collaborations with emerging directors. We focus on production and co-production of both fiction and documentary films. Our latest project is a first feature film “Mord” by Adam Martinec that is awaiting its World premiere in summer 2024. Previous projects include the short film “Anatomy of a Czech Afternoon” which premiered at Karlovy Vary IFF and won the esteemed Czech Lion for the Best Short Film.

Radovan Síbrt
Producer

PINK is a production company founded in 2009 by Alžběta Karásková and Radovan Síbrt, whose works have been distributed worldwide and selected/awarded by Berlinale IFF, Hot Docs IFF, BFI London, IDFA, CPH:DOX, Sydney FF, DOK Leipzig, Busan IFF, DOK.fest München and many more. Its main focus lies in (co)producing creative documentaries and feature films for the international market and TV content. In 2018, PINK co-produced the Berlinale-winning feature TOUCH ME NOT.

FIDLab Expanded

EURIMAGES Brunch

In the current context, and considering the obstacles that producers, distributors and sales agents may confront when distributing films in theaters, FIDLab offers an opportunity to share experiences and draw up new strategies for distributing and supporting films. Over a brunch sponsored by EURIMAGES, invited professionals will take part in discussions between international sales representatives, European distributors and producers. In the course of the conversations, an assessment of the situation will enable inspiring experiences to be highlighted, and a map to be drawn of what is possible in the defense of cinematographic diversity.

Saturday, June 29th | 11am – 2pm

LPA - Les Producteurs Associés

From Tuesday 25th to Saturday 29th
FIDMarseille and FIDLab will also be welcoming a delegation of Algerian producers invited as part of the LAB PRO DZ – LPA. The aim of this initiative is to create a link between Algerian producers and associate producers from the Southern Region, in order to strengthen and encourage co-productions. Organized in collaboration with LPA, the Institut Français and the French Embassy in Algeria, with the support of the Région SUD, the City of Marseille and the Aix-Marseille-Provence Metropole.

Friday 28th
FIDLab is continuing its collaboration with LPA, Les Producteurs Associés de la Région Sud, in the organization of professional meetings conceived for the local industry. A commissioning editor will be invited to present his or her editorial line-up at a meeting open to professionals. Also, Elisabeth Levrey will be presenting the LAB DZ // workshop conceived by the Institut Français in Algeria. Individual meetings will be organized between LPA producers and the Algerian delegation.

Partners

Official Partners

FIDLab Partners

Supports

In collaboration with

Press Partners

Le FIDLab est un espace de travail autour de projets de films sélectionnés en réponse à un appel international. Chaque année, une douzaine de projets sont sélectionnés, sans critères de format, de durée, de sujet, que ce soient des fictions, des documentaires, des animations ou des séries, au stade de l’écriture, du développement ou de la postproduction.

La plateforme a été créée pour offrir aux porteurs de projets l’opportunité de rencontres dynamiques avec des producteurs, fonds de soutien, diffuseurs, distributeurs, vendeurs, TV… Le FIDLab se positionne à la fois comme un espace défricheur de talents et un écrin en termes de diversité accueillie, et est devenu un label reconnu dans le monde.

 La 16ème édition du FIDLab se déroulera les jeudi 27 et vendredi 28 juin 2024, en plein cœur du FIDMarseille (25 – 30 juin 2024).

Projets sélectionnés

Stéphanie Roland

Chloé Galibert-Lainé

Dan Sallitt

Paula Rodríguez Polanco

Riar Rizaldi

Advik Beni & Nehal Vyas

Leonardo Mouramateus

Katsuya Tomita

Ra Di Martino

Prix

FIDLab est heureux de consolider sa mission de soutien avec 10 dotations en nature qui seront attribuées par le jury.

Prix A Fabrica

Mise à disposition en Corse, d’un auditorium de mixage et|ou d’une salle de montage son, sans technicien à un projet produit ou coproduit par une société de production européenne.

Prix Casa de Velázquez / Impulso ECAM

Une résidence de deux mois à la Casa de Velázquez à Madrid. L’ECAM remet le prix Impulso ECAM, offrant au lauréat·e une session de mentoring sur mesure afin de renforcer et affiner son projet.

Prix Commune Image

8 semaines de montage pour un projet produit ou coproduit par une société de production européenne.

Prix Culori

Mise à disposition d’un laboratoire en post-production dans une résidence d’artistes dans le sud de la Corse pour une durée de 15 jours, pour effectuer un travail d’étalonnage sur un moniteur 4K avec (ou sans) techniciens.

Prix Fondation Camargo

4 à 8 semaines de résidence à Cassis pour le réalisateur.ice

Prix Kodak – Silverway

Dotation de bobines de films par Kodak et leur développement par Silverway Paris pour un projet produit ou coproduit par une société de production européenne.

Prix Label 42 Studio

Nouveau prix doté par le Label 42 Studio, laboratoire et studios de post-production à Marseille qui offrira une semaine d’étalonnage sur projecteur cinéma ou une semaine de mixage Dolby Atmos (hors technicien).

Prix Préludes

Résidence en châlet dans la Région Rhône-Alpes comprenant la pension complète ainsi que la mise à disposition d’une station de montage à un projet de premier film.

Prix Sublimages

Traduction | adaptation et repérage des sous-titres du film primé vers l’anglais, l’espagnol ou le français.

Prix Vidéo de Poche

Travaux d’étalonnage (7 jours de studio sans technicien) et création d’un DCP. Tarif préférentiel pour la création de DCP à tous les projets sélectionnés.

Autres prix attribués par

DA FILMS - VOD Platform

DAFilms.com (Doc Alliance Films) offrira un prix de distribution de 5 000 € à l’un des projets sélectionnés par le FIDLab (un premier ou second long-métrage). Il couvre une diffusion sur DAFilms (incluant les Amériques, l’Europe et l’Asie), la plateforme VOD de Doc Alliance, pour une durée de deux ans.

Nebulae / Doclisboa

L’un des projets sélectionnés par FIDLab sera choisi et intégré à l’édition 2024 de la plateforme de coproduction de DocLisboa.

Jury

Résidence Joaquim Jordà

Pour la deuxième année, FIDMarseille, DocLisboa et le Museo Reina Sofía s’associent pour présenter un nouveau programme de résidence nommé en l’honneur du cinéaste espagnol Joaquim Jordà. Les deux artistes lauréats de cette résidence sont invités à présenter leurs projets lors de la 16ème édition du FIDLab.

Richard Shpuntoff

Serge Garcia

CZECH FOCUS

Depuis 2019, le FIDLab propose un focus sur un pays, invitant une délégation de producteurs à présenter leurs projets en cours et à développer leur réseau professionnel. Après la Bulgarie, la Grèce, la Belgique, le Portugal et la Lituanie, nous avons le plaisir de présenter pour la 16ème édition du FIDLab le Czech Focus. Cette section est organisée avec le soutien et l’étroite complicité de l’APA, l’Association des producteurs audiovisuels, un acteur crucial de l’industrie cinématographique de la République Tchèque. Parmi ses membres, trois sociétés de production sont invitées à participer à la prochaine édition du FIDLab afin de représenter la prometteuse production tchèque contemporaine. Vít Janeček, représentant de l’APA se joindra également à la délégation. Le focus est également organisé avec le soutien du Centre culturel tchèque à Paris et en association avec le Czech Film Fund et le Ji.hlava Film Festival.

Alžběta Janáčková
Productrice

Basée à Prague, en République Tchèque, Silk Films est une société de production cinématographique indépendante qui se consacre à des projets d’auteurs progressistes et à des histoires attrayantes. Dirigée par deux productrices déterminées et enthousiastes aux parcours variés, Silk Films a produit jusqu’à présent de nombreux documentaires qui ont été présentés à l’échelle internationale : Karlos (dir. Michal Samir, 2024), More Miko (dir. Robin Kvapil 2022) ou The Law of Love (dir. Bara Chalupová, 2021), coproduit les longs-métrages Oxygen Station (dir. Ivan Tymchenko, 2023), Mirrors in the Dark (dir. Šimon Holý, 2021), créé une série web populaire pour la télévision tchèque Rapstory (dir. Šimon Šafránek, 2021) et bien d’autres projets.

Matěj Paclík
Producteur

Breathless Films est une société de production indépendante basée à Prague, fondée par le producteur Matěj Paclík, qui privilégie les collaborations avec des réalisateurs·rices émergent·e·s. Nous nous concentrons sur la production et la coproduction de films de fiction et de documentaires. Notre dernier projet est un premier long métrage « Mord » d’Adam Martinec qui attend sa première mondiale à l’été 2024. Les projets précédents incluent le court métrage « Anatomy of a Czech Afternoon » qui a été présenté en première au FIF de Karlovy Vary et a remporté le très estimé Lion tchèque du meilleur court métrage.

Radovan Síbrt
Producteur

PINK est une société de production fondée en 2009 par Alžběta Karásková et Radovan Síbrt, dont les œuvres ont été distribuées dans le monde entier et sélectionnées/récompensées par la Berlinale IFF, Hot Docs IFF, BFI London, IDFA, CPH:DOX, Sydney FF, DOK Leipzig, Busan IFF, DOK.fest München et bien d’autres encore. Elle se concentre principalement sur la (co)production de documentaires et de longs métrages créatifs pour le marché international et le contenu télévisuel. En 2018, PINK a coproduit le long métrage TOUCH ME NOT, lauréat de la Berlinale.

FIDLab Expanded

Brunch EURIMAGES

Dans le contexte actuel et face aux obstacles que peuvent rencontrer les producteurs, distributeurs et vendeurs pour la diffusion des films en salle, le FIDLab propose un espace de partage d’expériences afin de dessiner de nouvelles stratégies de diffusion et d’accompagnement des films. Autour d’un brunch sponsorisé par EURIMAGES, les professionnels invités participeront à des tables de discussion entre vendeurs internationaux, distributeurs-trices européen-es et producteurs et productrices. Au fil des conversations, cet état des lieux permettra de mettre en lumière des expériences inspirantes et d’élaborer une cartographie des possible dans la défense de la diversité cinématographique.

Samedi 29 juin | 11h00 – 14h00

Rencontres LPA - Les Producteurs Associés

Du mardi 25 au samedi 29 juin
Le FIDMarseille et le FIDLab accueilleront une délégation de producteurs et productrices algérien.ne.s invité.e.s dans le cadre du LAB PRO DZ – LPA. Cette initiative vise à créer un lien de compagnonnage entre producteur.trice.s algérien.ne.s et les producteur.trice.s associé.e.s de la Région Sud afin de renforcer et encourager les coproductions. Organisé en collaboration avec LPA, l’Institut Français et l’Ambassade de France en Algérie avec le soutien de la Région SUD, de la Ville de Marseille et de la Métropole Aix-Marseille-Provence.

Vendredi 28 juin
Le FIDLab poursuit sa collaboration avec LPA, Les Producteurs Associés de la Région Sud, pour l’organisation de rencontres professionnelles adressées à la filière locale. Dans ce cadre, un ou une chargé.e de programme sera invité.e à présenter sa ligne éditoriale lors d’une rencontre ouverte à tous les professionnels intéressés. Puis Elisabeth Levrey présentera la Formation du LAB DZ // Laboratoire de création documentaire de l’Institut Français en Algérie. Des rendez-vous individuels seront organisés entre les producteur.trice.s de LPA et de la délégation algérienne.

Partenaires

Partenaires Officiels

Partenaires FIDLab

Soutiens

En complicité avec

Partenaires Média