South Sea

Riar Rizaldi

Indonesia

Genre : Documentary
Length: 80’
Project status: Development
Budget : 258 425 €
Acquired budget: 65 128 €
Funds : Bucharest International Experimental Film Festival (Winner Prize), Purin Pictures Production Grant 2024
Shooting country: Indonesia

Second Feature Film

In early 2022, tragedy occurred in Jember, Indonesia. Ten sect members were swept away by the waves on Payangan beach while performing a nocturnal ritual. The sect leader survived the incident, now confined in prison for manslaughter. The local government has since closed the beach and banned all ritual activities on the shore.
Victims’ families have recounted what they believe to have happened to their relatives that night and the preceding events. Scientific authorities claim that there is another possible cause; rising sea levels and coastal erosion on Payangan. In this film, both scientists and the victims’ families tell their stories, accompanied by reenactments of hypothetical events that occurred in the lead up to the tragedy.
These reenactments focus on the character of The Oceanographer, as he tries to reveal that the tragedy was not a mere accident. We follow one of the sect members, The Vocalist, a singer in a Javanese black metal band, before, during, and after the waves take his life.

Note of intention

During the fatal ritual, offerings are made to ancestors, requesting prosperity, escape from the mundane conditions of poverty. This reflects how these rituals are embedded in the contemporary daily lives of the celebrants, most of whom come from the lower class. The religious and the social overlap; these ritualists are seeking answers to and an exit from oppressive daily circumstances.
The Payangan incident became a massive spectacle in Indonesia and was presented in a sensational true-crime aesthetic on television, more interested in the sect rather than the bigger picture. I am interested in perceiving and articulating true-crime alternatively, not necessarily driven to manipulate the audience’s emotions. I am fascinated in this case with the ides of unravelling and solving a mystery, and finding the appropriate narrative structure that builds to the climactic “revelation” or “answer”, in order to best deconstruct both the reason for the mystery itself, and the pretence of the answer as a monolith.
What happened that night on Payangan beach is an important event to recalibrate and understand the dynamics between our social and environmental surroundings, as well as to the notion of the “Answer”.

Director

Riar Rizaldi

Filmography

• Monisme | 2023 | 115’
• Fossilis | 2023 | 13’
• Notes From Gog Magog | 2022 | 19’
• Becquerel | 2021 | 19’
• Tellurian Drama | 2020 | 26’
• Ghost Like Us | 2020 | 20’

Production

Production : New Pessimism (Indonesia)
Producer: B. M. Anggana

Coproduction : Dogmilk Films (Australia)
Producer: Sam Hewison

Selective filmography

Stéphanie Roland

Chloé Galibert-Laîné

Dan Sallitt

Paula Rodríguez Polanco

Advik Beni & Nehal Vyas

Leonardo Mouramateus

Katsuya Tomita

Ra Di Martino

FIDLab

South Sea

Riar Rizaldi

Indonésie

Genre : Documentaire
Durée | Length: 80’
État d’avancement : Développement
Budget : 258 425 €
Budget acquis : 65 128 €
Financement : Bucharest International Experimental Film Festival (Winner Prize), Purin Pictures Production Grant 2024
Pays de tournage : Indonésie

Deuxième Long-métrage

Début 2022, une tragédie frappe Jember, en Indonésie. En plein rituel nocturne, dix membres d’une secte sont emportés par les vagues sur la plage de Payangan. Aujourd’hui en prison pour homicide involontaire, le gourou a survécu. Les autorités locales ont depuis fermé la plage et interdit tout rituel sur le bord de mer.
Les familles des victimes ont raconté ce qu’elles pensent être arrivé à leurs proches cette nuit-là ainsi que les événements qui l’ont précédée. Les autorités scientifiques affirment qu’il pourrait y avoir une autre cause potentielle : la montée du niveau de la mer et l’érosion des côtes de Payangan. Dans le film, scientifiques et familles des victimes relatent leur version, avec à l’appui des reconstitutions des événements hypothétiques qui ont précédé la tragédie.
Ces reconstitutions se concentrent sur le personnage de l’Océanographe, persuadé qu’il ne s’agissait pas d’un simple accident. Nous suivrons également un membre de la secte, le Vocaliste, chanteur javanais d’un groupe de black metal, avant, pendant et après que les vagues lui ont ôté la vie.

Note d'intention

Lors d’un rituel fatidique, des offrandes sont faites aux ancêtres, afin d’obtenir la prospérité et d’ainsi échapper à la pauvreté ordinaire. De tels rituels s’inscrivent dans le quotidien des participants, dont la plupart sont issus du prolétariat. Le religieux et le social se télescopent; ces ritualistes recherchent à la fois des réponses et une échappatoire aux conditions oppressantes de leur quotidien.
L’incident de Payangan est devenu un “spectacle” très médiatisé en Indonésie, présenté à la télévision avec une esthétique sensationnaliste inspirée des “true-crime”, qui se focalise sur la secte sans s’intéresser à la vision d’ensemble. Ce qui m’intéresse, c’est une autre perception et articulation du ‘‘true-crime’’, loin de la manipulation des émotions du public. En l’occurrence, ce qui me fascine ici, c’est l’idée d’élucider un mystère et de trouver la forme narrative adéquate qui mène au climax de la ‘‘révélation’’ ou de la ‘‘réponse’’, afin de déconstruire les raisons du mystère en soi, et le simulacre d’une réponse monolithique.
Ce qui s’est passé cette nuit-là sur la plage de Payangan est un événement important pour évaluer et comprendre les dynamiques entre notre environnement social et écologique, tout comme la notion de “Réponse”.

Cinéaste

Riar Rizaldi

Filmographie

• Monisme | 2023 | 115’
• Fossilis | 2023 | 13’
• Notes From Gog Magog | 2022 | 19’
• Becquerel | 2021 | 19’
• Tellurian Drama | 2020 | 26’
• Ghost Like Us | 2020 | 20’

Production

Production : New Pessimism (Indonésie)
Producteur : B. M. Anggana

Coproduction : Dogmilk Films (Australie)
Producteur : Sam Hewison

Filmographie sélective

Stéphanie Roland

Chloé Galibert-Laîné

Dan Sallitt

Paula Rodríguez Polanco

Advik Beni & Nehal Vyas

Leonardo Mouramateus

Katsuya Tomita

Ra Di Martino