Malpaís

Paula Rodríguez Polanco

Colombia

Genre : Fiction
Length: 90’
Project status: Development
Budget : 700 000 €
Acquired budget: 10 000 €
Funds: CNAP (Image/mouvement development), Région Réunion (writing grant)
Shooting country: Colombia

First Feature Film

After finding the body of a drowned fisherman, Rosario and her father leave the Pacific Ocean to try their luck in a mining village overlooked by a volcano. Rosario tries to adapt to her new life, but on the volcano, men are mysteriously disappearing, attracted by the night-time darkness of the mining galleries.

Note of intention

On January 18, 2022, I was filming at an altitude of 4,800 meters on the summit of the Cumbal volcano in southern Colombia.
My biologist friend and I had noticed scratches on some huge rocks along the way. Our guide, a native of the Quillasingas indigenous people, explained that, over time and with seismic movements, stones that had previously stuck together moved, and their movement caused friction like scratching, leaving these marks on their surface.
On this volcano, I thought of the images imprinted on my film, as if light and time were entering with their claws to caress the filmic surface, as if the ghosts of time were lodged on the material layers of celluloid.
This experience led me to build the Malpaís project. In this project, the territory is a character. My desire to shoot this film in volcanic territory was confirmed when I discovered these desert plains covered in lichens and ferns, with their dried-up lava flows and steep, wild terrain.
Malpaís was born of a desire to put the earth, the body and matter at the center. I’m interested in decentering the human from the theme of myth and popular folklore, while claiming the triumph of life in its free, contradictory, and fragmented forms. The film thus proposes a return to the hybrid, the magical and the ancestral.

Director

Paula Rodríguez Polanco

Filmography

• Heliconia | 2020 | 27’

Production

Production : L’Heure d’été (France)
Producers: Ninon Chapuis, Thibault de Gantès, Lucas Le Postec

Production : Mutokino (Colombia)
Producer: Felipe Guerrero

Selective filmography

Stéphanie Roland

Chloé Galibert-Laîné

Dan Sallitt

Riar Rizaldi

Advik Beni & Nehal Vyas

Leonardo Mouramateus

Katsuya Tomita

Ra Di Martino

FIDLab

Malpaís

Paula Rodríguez Polanco

Colombie

Genre : Fiction
Durée : 90’
État d’avancement : Développement
Budget : 700 000 €
Budget acquis : 10 000 €
Financement : CNAP (Image/mouvement development), Région Réunion (writing grant)
Pays de tournage : Colombie

Premier Long-métrage

Après avoir retrouvé le corps d’un pêcheur noyé, Rosario et son père quittent l’océan Pacifique pour tenter leur chance dans un village de mineurs surplombé par un volcan. Rosario essaye de s’adapter à sa nouvelle vie, mais, sur le volcan, les hommes disparaissent mystérieusement, attirés par l’obscurité nocturne des galeries minières.

Note d'intention

Le 18 janvier 2022, je filmais à 4800 mètres d’altitude, au sommet du volcan Cumbal, au sud de la Colombie.
Mon ami biologiste et moi, avions remarqué sur le chemin des éraflures sur des énormes rochers. Notre guide, originaire du peuple autochtone Quillasingas, nous a expliqué qu’avec le temps et les mouvements sismiques, les pierres qui auparavant demeuraient collées les unes contre les autres bougeaient, et leur mouvement provoquait des frottements similaires à des griffures, laissant ces traces à leur surface.
Sur ce volcan, j’ai pensé aux images qui s’imprimaient sur ma pellicule, comme si la lumière et le temps rentraient avec leurs griffes pour caresser la surface filmique, comme si les fantômes du temps se logeaient sur les couches matérielles du celluloïd.
Cette expérience m’a amené à construire le projet de Malpaís. Dans ce projet, le territoire est un personnage à part entière. Mon désir de tourner ce film dans un territoire volcanique s’est affirmé lorsque j’ai découvert ces plaines désertiques recouvertes par les lichens et fougères, par ses coulées de lave desséchée, par son relief escarpé et sauvage.
Malpaís naît de l’envie de mettre la terre, le corps et la matière au centre. Je m’intéresse à décentrer l’humain à partir de la thématique du mythe et du folklore populaire, tout en revendiquant le triomphe de la vie dans ses formes libres, contradictoires et fragmentées. Le film propose ainsi un retour à l’hybride, au magique et à l’ancestral.

Cinéaste

Paula Rodríguez Polanco

Filmographie

• Heliconia | 2020 | 27’

Production

Production : L’Heure d’été (France)
Producteur.ices : Ninon Chapuis, Thibault de Gantès, Lucas Le Postec

Production : Mutokino (Colombie)
Producteur : Felipe Guerrero

Filmographie sélective

Stéphanie Roland

Chloé Galibert-Laîné

Dan Sallitt

Riar Rizaldi

Advik Beni & Nehal Vyas

Leonardo Mouramateus

Katsuya Tomita

Ra Di Martino