Drop! Cover! Hold on!

Stéphanie Roland

Belgium

Genre: Documentary
Length: 90’
Project status: Development
Budget : 134 808 €
Acquired budget: 67 750 €
Funds : SCAM, CBA, CCA, Gsara, Tënk
Shooting country: USA

First Feature Film

The Big One.
The ultimate earthquake.
A silent, endless state of emergency.
Fault lines eluding us.
They build their lives, their fictions,
their dreams and their prophecies along it.
They observe it; they fear it, and then they forget it. They fall asleep on it every night.
When will it awaken them?
Drop! Cover! Hold on! is a multi-layered story about the San Andreas Fault, a geological phenomenon very close to the Hollywood film studios. The overlapping storylines reflect the geological layers of these mythical landscapes. The film becomes a mosaic of different stories that come together to paint a broader portrait of the concept of Fault, somewhere between reality and fiction, between reality and the virtual world, and between geography and emotions. All of a sudden, the boundary between fiction and documentary splits open, unveiling invisible terrestrial phenomena and human existential rifts in anticipation of an earthquake.

Note of intention

During location scouting, I traveled the length of San Andreas Fault. While signs of its presence were evident here and there, I never truly saw it; it eluded me like a black hole. Different types of images intersect to reflect a fragmented reality, a portrait of the invisible fault line and the humans who live with this ever-present threat beneath their feet. How do we create new narratives in the era of Post-truth?
In this story, reality and fiction act as two tectonic plates, generating friction and tremors. We carve out our own path along this road where borders are blurred and mirages can sometimes appear. Gradually, this fault line permeates the film’s formal aspects: shifts, desynchronizations, falls and tremors mark out the editing line.
I felt it was important to give minerals – non-human elements in essence – a voice in this project. After all, they have existed far longer than we have and surely hold a deeper understanding of seismic history, having experienced it at the very core of their being. Rocks are given a strong sonic presence, sometimes whispering, perhaps offering us clues about the impending arrival of the Big One?

Director

Stéphanie Roland

Filmography

• The empty sphere | 2022 | 19’
• Podesta Island | 2021 | 23’
• Deception Island | 2017 | 13’

Production

Production : Dérives (Belgium)
Producer: Julie Freres

Coroduction : Sound Image Culture (Belgium)
Producer: Mary Jimenez

Coproduction : Centre de l’Audiovisuel à Bruxelles

Selective filmography

Chloé Galibert-Laîné

Dan Sallitt

Paula Rodríguez Polanco

Riar Rizaldi

Advik Beni & Nehal Vyas

Leonardo Mouramateus

Katsuya Tomita

Ra Di Martino

FIDLab

Drop! Cover! Hold on!

Stéphanie Roland

Belgique

Genre: Documentaire
Durée : 90’
État d’avancement : Développement
Budget : 173 632 €
Budget acquis : 67 750 €
Financement : SCAM, CBA, CCA, Gsara, Tënk
Pays de tournage : États-Unis

Premier Long-métrage

The Big One.
Le tremblement ultime.
Un état d’urgence silencieux et sans fin. Des lignes de faille qui nous échappent. Ils construisent leurs vies, leurs fictions, leurs rêves et leurs prophéties sur elle. Ils l’observent, la craignent et l’oublient. Ils s’endorment chaque soir sur elle. Quand les réveillera-t-elle ?
Drop! Cover! Hold on! est un récit stratifié qui explore la faille de San Andreas, un phénomène géologique très proche des studios de cinéma de Hollywood. Ses narrations superposées font écho aux couches géologiques de ces paysages mythiques. Le film devient une mosaïque de différentes histoires qui forment ensemble un portrait élargi de la notion de faille, entre réalité et fiction, monde réel et virtuel, géographie et affects. Soudain, la frontière entre fiction et documentaire se fissure et d’invisibles phénomènes terrestres se dévoilent, mais également des failles existentielles humaines, dans l’horizon d’attente d’un tremblement.

Note d'intention

Lors de mes repérages, j’ai parcouru la faille de San Andreas sur toute sa longueur et, même si des indices indirects de sa présence apparaissent ici et là, je ne l’ai jamais vue, elle s’est dérobée à moi comme le ferait un trou noir. Différents types d’images se croisent afin de refléter une réalité fragmentée, un portrait de cette faille inaccessible au regard et des humains qui vivent avec cette menace sous leurs pieds. Comment créer de nouvelles histoires dans une ère de post-vérité ?
Dans ce récit, la réalité et la fiction agissent comme deux plaques tectoniques, qui créent des frictions et des tremblements, notre chemin se fraye à travers cette route aux frontières floues, où des mirages peuvent parfois survenir. Progressivement, la structure de la faille influe sur celle du film : décalages, désynchronisations, chutes et tremblements jalonnent la ligne de montage.
Il me semble pertinent de donner une voix dans ce projet aux minéraux, éléments non- humains, qui existent depuis bien plus longtemps que nous et ont certainement de meilleures connaissances sur l’historique des phénomènes sismiques, l’ayant vécu au cœur même de leur matière. Les pierres ont ici une présence forte grâce à un dispositif sonore particulier, elles chuchotent, peut-être pour nous donner des indices concernant l’arrivée du Big One ?

Cinéaste

Stéphanie Roland

Filmographie

• The empty sphere | 2022 | 19’
• Podesta Island | 2021 | 23’
• Deception Island | 2017 | 13’

Production

Production : Dérives (Belgique)
Productrice : Julie Freres

Coproduction : Sound Image Culture (Belgique)
Productrice : Mary Jimenez

Coproduction : Centre de l’Audiovisuel à Bruxelles

Filmographie sélective

Chloé Galibert-Laîné

Dan Sallitt

Paula Rodríguez Polanco

Riar Rizaldi

Advik Beni & Nehal Vyas

Leonardo Mouramateus

Katsuya Tomita

Ra Di Martino