Sélection officielle 2019 / EP - Cinéma sans recettes
Katsuya Tomita

TENZO

Japan / 2019 / Color / 61'

In Zen temples, Tenzo is the name of the position given to the person responsible for meals. It’s one of the monastery’s six prestigious posts, and also involves teaching many important aspects of the doctrine. Clearly, by making this the title of his film, Katsuya Tomita places cooking, care, hospitality, attentiveness towards others and, more generally, the issue of community at the heart of his project. Commissioned by the Young Monks association, Tenzo chooses Chiken and Ryugyo, two Buddhist monks, as protagonists. Both of them were deeply a ected by the nuclear disaster in Fukushima, and both of them decided to spend their lives serving their fellow countrymen and women. One of them, Chiken, teaches culinary practice as an art of living and devotes some of his time to working on a suicide prevention hotline. The other, Ryugyo, supports the earthquake victims in his own modest but very practical way. The beauty of Tomita’s film lies in the fact that nothing is settled in advance – neither the characters nor the situations, nor even the cinematic style is stable. Everything is liable to move physically and/or emotionally, but also to demonstrate freedom with this discreet, possibly Zen teaching, where a genuine jubilance has the definitive upper hand. (J.P.R.)

Technical sheet

Original version: Japanese. Subtitles: French. Script: Toranosuke Aizawa, Katsuya Tomita. Image: Takuma Furuya, Masahiro Mukoyama. Editing: Tomita Kasuya. Sound: Iwao Yamazaki. Casting : Chiken Kawaguchi, Shinko Kondo, Ryugyo Kurashima.

Production: All-Japan Soto Young Priests Association (Ryugyo Kurashima).

Distribution: Survival (Guillaume Morel).

Filmography: Above the clouds, 2003. O highway 20, 2007. Saudade, 2011. Bangkok Nites, 2017.

Director

Katsuya Tomita - Japan

EP - Cinéma sans recettes

Synopsis

In Zen temples, Tenzo is the name of the position given to the person responsible for meals. It’s one of the monastery’s six prestigious posts, and also involves teaching many important...

En savoir +
Sélection officielle 2019
11.07.2019 - 22:30
La Baleine
13.07.2019 - 12:30
MuCEM
15.07.2019 - 12:15
Variétés 1
Synopsis

M. Chu is Taipei’s greatest cuisine chef. Since his wife’s passing sixteen years before, he has been raising his three daughters on his own: Jen, a chemistry professor and her exacerbated...

En savoir +
EP - Cinéma sans recettes 2019
11.07.2019 - 21:45
MuCEM
14.07.2019 - 10:30
Variétés 1
Synopsis

The drought in Taïwan is so extreme that the population is asked to drink watermelon juice instead of water. She subsists by stealing water from public washrooms. As for him, when night falls, he...

En savoir +
EP - Cinéma sans recettes 2019
Synopsis

In a polluted forest after a nuclear apocalypse live a scientist and his outmoded equipment for strange audio experiments, his sweet but crackpot son and a woman who has just escaped from the nearby...

En savoir +
EP - Cinéma sans recettes 2019
10.07.2019 - 22:00
La Baleine
13.07.2019 - 22:00
La Baleine

Sélection officielle 2019 / EP - Cinéma sans recettes
Katsuya Tomita

TENZO

Japon / 2019 / Couleur / 61'

Dans un temple Zen, « Tenzo » désigne la personne en charge des repas. C’est une des six fonctions prestigieuses du monastère, associée par ailleurs à l’enseignement d’autres aspects décisifs de la doctrine. On l’aura compris,
à titrer ainsi son film, Katsuya Tomita place la cuisine, le soin, l’hospitalité, l’attention aux autres, plus largement la question de la communauté, au cœur de son projet. Fruit d’une commande émanant d’une association de bonzes, Tenzo choisit Chiken and Ryugyo, deux moines bouddhistes, pour protagonistes. L’un et l’autre ont été frappés dans leur activité par la catastrophe de Fukushima, l’un et l’autre ont décidé de se mettre au service de leurs compatriotes. L’un, Chiken, enseigne la pratique culinaire comme un art de vivre et consacre une partie de son temps à une ligne d’appels préventive au suicide. L’autre, Ryugyo, soutient à sa manière plus modeste et très pratique les victimes du séisme. La beauté du geste de Tomita tient au fait de ne rien fixer par avance : ni ses personnages, ni les situations, ni même la manière cinématographique, n’est stable. Tout est susceptible de bouger, d’émouvoir, mais aussi de faire preuve de liberté. Pédagogie discrète, zen peut-être, où c’est en définitive une véritable allégresse qui a le dessus. (J.P.R.)

Fiche technique

Version originale : japonais. Sous-titres : français. Scénario : Toranosuke Aizawa, Katsuya Tomita. Image : Takuma Furuya, Masahiro Mukoyama. Montage : Tomita Kasuya. Son : Iwao Yamazaki. Avec : Chiken Kawaguchi, Shinko Kondo, Ryugyo Kurashima.

Production : All-Japan Soto Young Priests Association (Ryugyo Kurashima).

Distribution : Survivance (Guillaume Morel).

Filmographie : Above the clouds, 2003. O highway 20, 2007. Saudade, 2011. Bangkok Nites, 2017.

Réalisateur

Katsuya Tomita - Japon

EP - Cinéma sans recettes

Synopsis

Dans un temple Zen, « Tenzo » désigne la personne en charge des repas. C’est une des six fonctions prestigieuses du monastère, associée par ailleurs à l’enseignement d’autres aspects...

En savoir +
Sélection officielle 2019
Synopsis

M. Chu est le plus grand chef cuisinier de Taipei. Veuf depuis seize ans, il élève seul ses trois filles : Jen, professeur de chimie à la religiosité exacerbée, Kien, séduisante businesswoman...

En savoir +
EP - Cinéma sans recettes 2019
11.07.2019 - 21:45
MuCEM
14.07.2019 - 10:30
Variétés 1
Synopsis

La sécheresse est telle à Taïwan que la population est invitée à remplacer l’eau par le jus de pastèque. Elle, c’est en volant l’eau des toilettes publiques qu’elle subsiste. Lui,...

En savoir +
EP - Cinéma sans recettes 2019
Synopsis

Dans une forêt polluée après une apocalypse nucléaire, vivent un savant et son attirail désuet voué à des expériences sonores étranges, son fils doucement fêlé et une femme tout juste...

En savoir +
EP - Cinéma sans recettes 2019
10.07.2019 - 22:00
La Baleine
13.07.2019 - 22:00
La Baleine