• Flash Competition

DAW

Samir Ramdani

The opening scene is worthy of a good old sci-fi blockbuster, a genre Samir Ramdani’s particularly fond of as we saw in La Cellule (FID2020). The director uses the same ingredients: the energy of what are known as “deprived” teenagers, methods and places proud of their meagre means, an electric soundtrack that drapes the sequences with an haute-couture Hollywood veil, and impeccable shots. The narrative is childishly simple: some teenagers have disappeared and Samir Ramdani as a lethargic cop and his boss Samira, played by Leyla Jawad, have to find them. The straightforward script is an opportunity to lay out the filmmaker’s directing to invest the potential of political fiction, with a mastery of situational comedy that’s beyond reproach. Like his previous films, Daw emanates a corrosive humour. Its quirkiness allows it to address France’s taboos and stereotypes about French people of Algerian origin. When Samira discusses the investigation’s progress on the phone with the chief of police, she surreptitiously slips into Arabic, and the film weaves between French and Arabic with acerbic glee. We should add that Samira is gay, and her ex-girlfriend a boxing instructor, and that Daw is overtly feminist and de-colonial. It’s also darker and more hard-hitting than the director’s earlier films. The particular pleasure here is for the children of immigrants, who don’t know the origin of the word “ratonnade” (racist attack) or anything about the police massacre of Algerians on 17th October 1961. Daw takes on the urgency of appropriating one’s heritage and the idea that “those who do not know history are doomed to repeat it”.

Claire Lasolle

As for La Cellule, (2020), you rely on the codes of genre films to summon a historical and political event. What was your ambition with Daw? 

The project originally stemmed from an invitation delivered by Alessandra Prandin, the curator and director of the CAP (the Arts Center in Saint-Fons), who asked me to set up an exhibition in that space. I was aware that the Lyon region was home to one of the oldest and largest Algerian community in France. The industrial Rhône valley relied heavily on North African labour for its post-war reconstruction. I wished to celebrate the Algerian community by telling a fragment of its history. This resulted in the video installation « Noor ». Once the exhibition was over, I thought we should a make a film : so we had a second run of shooting, and a thorough postproduction process this time over. As for the pairing of genre flick and political discourse, I would call this the running theme throughout my work. 

The use of photographs extracted from historical archives brings a whole new dimension to the tale. How important were these images in the general storytelling process? 

The decision to include historical imagery in a formally whimsical film was not easily reached. These images serve as a window on the historical truth. The film is set in a form of fiction which sometimes, at various parts of its cathartic storytelling, hints at fragments of the actual tragedy. I feel that these photographs play a part in reasserting the political issue tackled in the film. 

You portray a police detective in the film. How did you come up with this cast, which is generally a remarkable questioning of social representations?

I make a point of subverting racial and gender stereotypes in the cast of all my films. It’s a crucial element of my aesthetic and political strategies. I do it primarily so that people like me can project themselves into any social position. I present minorities in positions of power, which isn’t a very common thing in contemporary France. In the film, both cops and the prefect are of Arab descent, and they speak Arabic to one another on the job.

The fantastical elements are rather simple in their nature : a blue light here, a sculpture there. How did you design this relation to fantasy?

My co-writer Alexis Bougon and myself were interested in pursuing a rather minimalistic aesthetic. Partly, we felt that this would help with matters of pure suspense ; but we also believe that it’s easier for one to project oneself into simple forms. Abstract forms are intriguing, and they can stimulate the imagination. The choice of using light as a representation for the spirits is a very symbolic one : as first-hand witnesses, these spirits carry the historical truth of October 17th, 1961 with them. And we designed the very sculptural blue entity as a living totem, a magic fountain, a transdimensional shrine.

How did you operate regarding matters of sound design?

The sound design and music are very intricate, so much so that it wasn’t always easy deciding whether a sound should fall under the competence of Deena Abdelwahed or Arno Ledoux (the film’s sound designer, sound editor et mixer). For instance, Deena was keen on composing a sound based on whispers to soundtrack the apparition of the light. They both made several versions of the tale’s different recurrent sounds, and we only made final decisions during the editing process.

What were your directions in regard to Deena Abdelwahed’s musical composition?

It was a simple direction : I wanted the music to be inspired by contemporary Arabic musical forms. Deena had a lot of leeway regarding the musical creation. After watching a sequence, she would make proposals and I only had to pick the tracks which resonated most with the plot’s emotional intention and our desire for the film to fit into the « fantastical thriller » identity.

Daw oscillates between different worlds. How did you differentiate between them?

Yes, there are two coexisting worlds and we needed this to be absolutely clear. There are a normal world and a second world parallel to the former, filmed in a dark and empty disused building. Soundwork served to accentuate the distinct atmosphere of this parallel world, and we recalibrated the colour grading of this part of the film to make it appear blue. 

How did you come up with the dance sequence, reminiscent of the choreographic works in your first films?

The original script featured a purely traditional dance. It’s only in the preparatory work for shooting that the choice of breakdancing as the dance of the dead became obvious. This is when we met Ali-Bey Ghenai, an original member of the breakdancing world champion Pokemon Crew. She’s the one who helped us with the cast. Alexis and I were interested in the anachronistic idea of showing the spirits of October 17th 1961 through the perspective of their young descendants.  

Daw serves as a bridge between two generations and two time periods. Did you wish to remind today’s youth of their history, and serve a purpose of historical remembrance and transmission ? 

Yes, it’s a simple genre short but it humbly attempts to celebrate our history and remind us of the humanity of those who took the streets to assert their dignity. And I think that’s much-needed in a contemporary context where the institutions are increasingly permeable to far-right ideology. When I was younger, I would’ve liked to see more movies like that. Us Arabs and Black youth living in the French projects didn’t have models to aspire to at that time. There is a heavy deficit in terms of self-love in the French projects. We’re taught to despise ourselves at school, in the media, in the streets. In my humble field of action, I do my best to counterbalance this state of affairs.

Interview conducted by Olivier Pierre

  • Flash Competition

Technical sheet

France / 2023 / 28’

Rights holders
Samsha films
Alexis Ramdani
alexis@samsha.fr

Samir Ramdani
samir.ramdani@gmail.com

Index
  • Compétition Flash

DAW

Samir Ramdani

La scène d’ouverture est digne d’un bon blockbuster de science-fiction, genre que Samir Ramdani affectionne particulièrement. La Cellule (FID2020) en était une formidable illustration. Le réalisateur use des mêmes ingrédients : énergie des adolescents qu’on appelle « des quartiers », moyens et espaces qui revendiquent leur modestie, bande son électrique qui habille les séquences d’un voile hollywoodien haute couture, plans impeccables. Le schéma narratif est d’une simplicité enfantine : des adolescents ont disparu, Samir Ramdani, en flic indolent, et sa supérieure, Samira, jouée par Leyla Jawad, doivent les retrouver. Sans détour, le scénario est l’occasion de déplier l’art de la mise en scène du réalisateur pour investir les potentialités de la fiction politique, avec une maîtrise du comique de situation à toute épreuve. Daw distille encore une fois un humour corrosif. Le décalage permet d’aborder tabous et stéréotypes de la société française à l’égard des Français d’origine algérienne. Quand Samira discute au téléphone avec le préfet de l’avancée de l’enquête, elle passe subrepticement à la langue arabe. Et le film navigue ainsi avec une joie acide de l’arabe au français, du français à l’arabe. Précisons que Samira est lesbienne, son ex-copine prof de boxe. Que Daw est ouvertement féministe et décolonial. Il est aussi plus sombre et plus frontal que les films précédents du cinéaste. Le plaisir du fait main est ici au service des enfants d’immigrés qui ne connaissent pas l’origine du mot ratonnade ni le massacre du 17 octobre 1961. Daw assume ainsi l’urgence de l’appropriation des héritages et l’idée que « Celui qui ne connaît pas l’histoire est condamné à la revivre ».

Claire Lasolle

Après La Cellule, (2020), vous empruntez à nouveau aux codes des films de genre pour évoquer un évènement historique et politique. Quel était le projet de Daw?

À l’origine, le projet vient d’une invitation d’Alessandra Prandin, commissaire et directrice du CAP, le Centre d’art de Saint-Fons, à faire une exposition. Je sais qu’une des plus importante communauté algérienne (historiquement et en nombre) en France vit dans la région de Lyon. La vallée du Rhône et son industrie a fait venir beaucoup de maghrébins pour la reconstruction d’après-guerre. J’ai voulu rendre hommage à la communauté algérienne en racontant une partie de son histoire. Le résultat a été l’installation vidéo « Noor ». Après l’exposition j’ai voulu en faire un film nous avons ainsi fait un second tournage et une postproduction complète. Concernant le duo film de genre et propos politique, je dirais que c’est la constante dans chacun de mes projets.

Les photos d’archives donnent une autre dimension au récit. Quelle importance ont-elles pris dans le scénario ?

Ce choix de mettre ces images d’archives dans un film formellement fantaisiste a fait l’objet d’une longue réflexion. Ces images sont une fenêtre sur la vérité historique. On est dans une fiction qui, au fil de son récit cathartique, laisse entrevoir, le temps de cette séquence, des fragments de cette tragédie. Je pense que ces images aident à resituer l’enjeu politique du film.

Le casting, dans lequel vous jouez un inspecteur de police, est une question de représentation sociale notable. Comment l’avez-vous composé ?

Dans tous mes films, je m’applique à prendre le contre-pied des stéréotypes raciaux et de genre à l’endroit du casting. Pour moi, c’est une étape capitale de ma stratégie esthétique politique. Je le fais d’abord pour que des gens comme moi puissent se projeter dans tous types de places sociales, mais je présente aussi des personnes minorisées dans des postes de pouvoir. Ce que nous avons peu l’habitude de voir en France, en 2023. Les deux flics et le préfet de l’histoire sont arabes, et ils parlent arabe entre eux pendant leur service.

Le fantastique provient d’éléments simples, une lumière bleue, une sculpture. Comment l’avez-vous conçu ?

Avec mon co-scénariste Alexis Bougon, on voulait une esthétique assez minimale. D’abord pour des questions de pur suspens mais aussi parce qu’on pense qu’on peut d’avantage se projeter dans les formes simples. Les formes abstraites intriguent et peuvent stimuler l’imagination. Le choix de la lumière pour représenter les esprits est très symbolique : en tant que premiers témoins, ces esprits portent en eux la vérité historique du 17 octobre 1961. Et nous avons pensé l’entité bleue très sculpturale comme un totem vivant, une fontaine magique, un autel transdimensionnel.

Comment avez-vous travaillé le design sonore ?

Le design sonore et la musique sont très intriqués, d’ailleurs ce n’était pas toujours simple de savoir si tel son devait être pris en charge par Deena Abdelwahed ou Arno Ledoux (sound designer, monteur son et mixeur du film). Par exemple, pour l’apparition de la lumière c’est Deena qui a voulu composer un son à partir de chuchotements. Ils ont fait plusieurs versions de différents sons récurrents dans le récit et c’est véritablement au mixage qu’on a choisi.

Quelles étaient vos directions concernant la musique avec Deena Abdelwahed ?

La direction était simple, je voulais une musique d’inspirations arabe contemporaine. Deena a eu beaucoup de marge de manœuvre pour la création musicale. Après visionnage des séquences, elle faisait des propositions et j’avais seulement à choisir les pistes qui nous rapprochaient le plus de l’émotion de l’intrigue et de l’identité de thriller fantastique souhaitée.


Daw oscille entre différents mondes. Comment les avez-vous différenciés ?

Oui, deux mondes coexistent et il fallait que cela soit clair. Un monde normal et un monde parallèle filmé dans un bâtiment désaffecté, vide et obscur. On a réalisé un travail sonore pour marquer la différence d’ambiance du monde parallèle et un travail à l’étalonnage pour bleuir toute cette partie du film.

Comment avez-vous imaginé la séquence de danse qui rappelle les chorégraphies de vos premiers films ?

Au scénario on voulait une danse purement traditionnelle, ce n’est que dans la phase de préparation de tournage que le choix du break dance comme danse des morts s’est imposé. À l’époque, nous avions rencontré Alib-Bey Ghenai, cofondateur de la troupe Pokemon Crew qui a été championne du monde de break dance. C’est elle qui nous a aidé pour le casting sur place. C’est un anachronisme qui nous a plu avec Alexis, ces esprits du 17 octobre 1961 étant vus par le regard de leurs jeunes descendants. 

Daw fait le lien entre deux époques et deux générations. Souhaitiez-vous rappeler aux jeunes d’aujourd’hui leur histoire et faire œuvre de mémoire et de transmission ?

Oui, C’est un simple court métrage de genre mais il essaye à son niveau de célébrer notre mémoire et rappeler l’humanité de ces personnes qui sont sorties dans la rue pour leur dignité. Et je crois qu’aujourd’hui, dans ce contexte politique où l’institution intègre de plus en plus les idées de l’extrême droite, ce n’est pas du luxe. Plus jeune, j’aurais aimé voir ce type de films. Nous n’avions pas de modèle à nous, Arabes et Noirs des cités de France. Il y a un fort déficit d’amour de soi dans les cités françaises. À l’école, dans les médias, dans la rue, on nous apprend à nous détester. Dans mon modeste champ d’action j’essaye ainsi de contrebalancer cet état de fait.

Propos recueillis par Olivier Pierre

  • Compétition Flash

Fiche technique

France / 2023 / 28’

Détenteurs des droits
Samsha films
Alexis Ramdani
alexis@samsha.fr

Samir Ramdani
samir.ramdani@gmail.com