• First Film Competition

SOFIA FOI

SOFIA WAS

Pedro Geraldo

Sofia, 23, has a face like a doll’s, short hair and a red cap jammed tight on her head. Forced to leave the flat where she was staying, she decided to kill time on the campus of the University of São Paulo where she goes as a tattoo artist rather than a student. With extreme simplicity, the film traces the wanderings of this secretive, mysteriously stubborn character, determinedly inscrutable and resistant with a tragic sensuality. Sofia Foi moves forward in ellipses and evocations through the day and night, meeting friends and classmates. These equally solitary and enigmatic figures appear as statues, observing and immobile, like the champions of a strangely muted, silent revolt. Through Sofia, Pedro Geraldo depicts the outlines of youth that’s marginal and vulnerable, made insecure,
astray on the edge of a menacing world, lost between the fullness and emptiness of a campus that fails to protect. Filmed in fixed shots with beautiful hiaroscuro and greenish tones, the hidden recesses of the university are disturbing. The director sets up a serious, sombre sound and visual regime that heightens Sofia’s isolation. Her cryptic face and inscrutable eyes, filmed in close-up, are at times transfigured by sublime superimpositions; they represent the nostalgia of a love brutally cut short, a disappearance yet to come. The film is shaped by absences, in which seems to lodge the face of a death watching us:
Sofia was

Louise Martin Papasian

In the film we follow Sofia’s character throughout 24 hours, embodied and inspired by Sofia Tomic, who is also the film’s co-writer. How did you meet her and how did the idea of making this film come about? Could you tell us about how you built Sofia’s character together ?

About 10 years ago I met Sofia when we studied cinema at the same university. I was really impressed by their voice and presence — Sofia always sings for their friends. After 2 years, Sofia decided to study Architecture at the University of Sao Paulo. At that time, I was reading Um melro dourado, um ramo de flores, uma colher de prata a long Cyril Neyrat interview with Pedro Costa about In Vanda’s Room, and although my film has little similarities with Costa’s film, I felt inspired when he said about believing in the presence of one person and how this belief was enough to turn into a film. I would visit Sofia to spend time together and one day I proposed we make a film. I had in mind the university campus as the film’s landscape and that death was not unfamiliar to this space. I was very moved when two fatal incidents happened on the campus with young students. My interest developed into trying to see them through a sensorial approach. What could have been the last moments of their lives? Back then, Sofia was in a moment of housing vulnerability after coming out. We decided to start a process of reflecting on what parts of Sofia’s life could be in the film, events that were important for showing this specific moment: how to make income with tattoos, the constant moving from a house to another, absence from university classes and so on. A special moment for us was when Sofia defined what would be her clothes and belongings for the film. We truly felt like she was the protagonist of some kind of cartoon or even a superhero movie.

Sofia Foi combines direct footage and staged performance recordings. What is the reason behind this choice?

At first, we didn’t have a script in the traditional sense. I gave Sofia a blank notebook where she could write her feelings and memories of recent events. This was mainly used to define our choices in the editing and post-production. Also, Sofia made a list of places and situations that they’d like to be in contact with. Together, we decided to develop the narrative while shooting the film. We rented a camera for one month and filmed for 13 days, respecting each other’s moods and feelings. The first day of shooting was the tattoo event sequence that happened during the lesbian visibility day at the Faculty of Architecture and Urbanism of the University of São Paulo. I was still getting familiar with the camera and Sofia was truly working. We started with an observational approach, being open and attentive to the event. Topics started to appear in the conversations and I understood better the distance between Sofia and the camera. After that, we defined the rest of the film in chronological terms. Sofia reenacted the arrival for the tattoo event, the preparation for it and we created paths to what could happen after that. It was only after being open to chance that we felt ready to fictionalize our narrative. At the same time, it became obvious for us that we had to make a fiction as a way for things not to happen in real life.

Despite Sofia’s various encounters, her journey appears to be a lonely one, immersed mostly in darkness. Could you comment on this?

In the tattoo event, Sofia finds a space of support and intimacy, where personal feelings and memories are allowed to be discussed. Suddenly, she decides to isolate herself from it, without much explanation. As a way to deal with things we can’t really grasp,  the film becomes elliptical. During her night drift, Sofia encounters people that enhance the lack of a support network. To achieve the sense of isolation, we had to follow a very strict separation between Sofia and the people who came across her path. Sometimes, we removed any appearance of spontaneity from some encounters and sequences. Another approach was to give attention to the landscape through framing and this became a good addition to Sofia’s feelings, especially those related to harshness and stagnation. While we were wandering along her through the campus, it was natural to look for dark corners, spaces without much visibility, where Sofia could be somehow dimmed until total disappearance. For me, it was really important to trace how Sofia was seen and perceived during this particular day of their life. Also, it was crucial to explore the ambiguity between wanting to be seen and the desire for being invisible. 

The camera pays particular attention to space and body details, accentuated by the use of the 4:3 format and to which the HDV medium lends a specific texture. What ideas guided you in the direction of photography?

The most important concept related to the image making was finding the right distance between the camera and Sofia. There were moments that we needed to get closer to her, especially in intimacy scenes and tattooing sequences. Both requested tactile attention from the camera and the viewer. In other scenes, it was really important to perceive the landscape as a presence that witnessed Sofia’s dislocation. The 1,33 aspect ratio helped to create this sense of fixity of the architecture, increasing the feeling of its verticality and imposition. Since the first day of shooting, the framing was mostly focused on centralizing Sofia’s figure, but in some sequences the 4:3 format has placed Sofia to its margins, as another way of giving importance to the space and marking her displacement. Between proximity and distance, the HDV camera suited really well in capturing the texture and colors of the different materialities we were in contact with, like the tattoo ink, the skin of the characters,  their clothing, and the aspects of the landscape.

The film resorts to overlays in both image and sound, often used as editing solutions. What led you to this formal choice?

The editing process was divided between two persons. First, I did a rough cut of the film that was very dense, too respectful to the raw material, and I felt that something was missing. Then, I invited Manoela Cezar to join the editing and we began a process between Brazil and Portugal, where I lived by that time. Her approach on image has always been connected to dream-like sensibility and she was the one who brought the image overlays for the process. They are in the film as a way of mixing the different temporalities we intended to have, spliced between the linear timeline of Sofia’s 24 hour day, flashback with a romantic partner and a recurrent dream sequence. As a result, the overlays also work to convey a sense of an overwhelming accumulation of Sofia’s feelings and experiences that marked this specific period of her life. 

Interview by Marco Cipollini

  • First Film Competition

Technical sheet

Brazil | 2023 | 67’

Rights holders
Ladaia
André Bulascoschi
andre@ladaia.com

Pedro Gerardo
pedrocgeraldo@gmail.com

Index
  • Compétition Premier Film

SOFIA FOI

SOFIA WAS

Pedro Geraldo

Sofia, 23 ans, a un visage poupon, les cheveux courts, et une casquette rouge vissée sur la tête. Sommée de quitter l’appartement où elle est hébergée, elle décide d’aller tuer le temps sur le campus de l’Université de São Paulo, où elle se rend comme tatoueuse, et non comme étudiante. Avec un dénuement extrême, le film dessine l’errance de ce personnage secret, mystérieusement entêté, qui ne se laisse pas déchiffrer et se montre tout en résistance, dans une sensualité tragique. Sofia Foi avance par ellipses et évocations, au fil du jour et de la nuit, au gré des rencontres avec des ami·e·s ou compagnon·ne·s de classe. Figures elles aussi solitaires et énigmatiques, elles apparaissent, statufiées, observantes et immobiles, comme porteuses d’une révolte étrangement sourde et ilencieuse. Au travers de Sofia, Pedro Geraldo dépeint les contours d’une jeunesse marginale et vulnérable, précarisée, égarée au bord d’un monde qui la menace, perdue entre les pleins et les vides d’un campus qui ne la protège pas.
Filmés en plans fixes dans de très beaux clairs-obscurs aux tons verdâtres, les recoins de l’université inquiètent. Le réalisateur installe un régime sonore et plastique grave et sombre, qui redouble l’isolement de Sofia. Son visage sibyllin et ses yeux insondables, filmés en gros plans, sont par moments transfigurés par de sublimes surimpressions; elle figurent la nostalgie d’un amour brutalement interrompu, une disparition à venir. Le film façonne à partir d’absences, dans lesquelles se loge, semble-t-il, le visage d’une mort qui nous regarde : Sofia foi.

Louise Martin Papasian

Dans le film, nous suivons pendant vingt-quatre heures le personnage de Sofia, incarné et inspiré par Sofia Tomic, qui est également coscénariste. Comment l’avez-vous rencontré•e et comment l’idée de réaliser ce film est-elle née ? Pourriez-vous nous dire comment vous avez construit ensemble le personnage de Sofia ?

J’ai connu Sofia il y a environ 10 ans, nous avons étudié le cinéma dans la même faculté. Sa voix et sa présence m’avaient vraiment impressionné. Sofia chante toujours pour ses ami•es. Au bout de deux ans, Sofia s’est réorienté•e en architecture à l’Université de São Paulo. À cette époque, je lisais Um melro dourado, um ramo de flores, uma colher de prata [Un merle doré, un bouquet de fleurs, une cuiller d’argent], un long entretien entre Cyril Neyrat et Pedro Costa à propos de Dans la chambre de Vanda. Bien que mon film ait très peu de ressemblance avec celui de Costa, il m’a inspiré quand il dit croire en la présence d’un•e individu•e, croyance qui serait suffisante à impulser la fabrication d’un film. J’allais voir Sofia régulièrement, on passait du temps ensemble, et un jour, je lui ai proposé qu’on tourne un film. Je pensais au campus universitaire comme décor et au fait que la mort n’était pas étrangère à cet espace. Cela m’a accablé d’apprendre que deux jeunes étudiant•es avaient trouvé la mort lors d’incidents survenus sur le campus. Je m’y suis intéressé, puis j’ai voulu tenter de les imaginer à travers un prisme sensoriel. À quoi auraient bien pu ressembler leurs dernières heures ? À l’époque, Sofia rencontrait des problèmes pour se loger après son coming out. Nous avons réfléchi aux aspects de sa vie que nous pourrions incorporer dans le film, aux événements qui illustraient le mieux cet instant précis : comment gagner de l’argent grâce au tatouage, les déménagements incessants, les absences en cours, etc. Nous avons vécu un très beau moment lorsque Sofia a choisi ses tenues et ses effets personnels pour le film. On croyait avoir affaire à un personnage de dessin animé, voire à un•e superhéro•ïne.

Sofia Foi allie captations directes et séquences scénarisées. Comment expliquez-vous cette démarche ?

Au début, nous travaillions sans scénario au sens classique du terme. J’ai donné à Sofia un carnet vierge où iel pouvait noter ce qu’iel ressentait et ses souvenirs récents. Cela a surtout orienté nos choix de montage et de postproduction. Sofia a également dressé une liste des lieux et des situations qu’iel aurait aimé voir à l’écran. Ensemble, nous avons décidé de développer le récit au cours du tournage. Nous avons loué une caméra pendant un mois et filmé pendant treize jours, en respectant les humeurs et les émotions de chacun•e. Le premier jour de tournage, nous avons tourné la séquence de la convention de tatouage dans le cadre de la Journée de la visibilité lesbienne à la Faculté d’architecture et d’urbanisme de l’Université de São Paulo. J’apprivoisais encore la caméra et Sofia travaillait vraiment. On a d’abord choisi d’observer, en demeurant ouvert•es et attentif•ves à l’événement. Des thématiques se sont esquissées dans les conversations, et j’ai mieux saisi la distance entre Sofia et la caméra. Nous avons ensuite précisé le reste du film en termes chronologiques. Sofia a rejoué l’arrivée à la convention de tatouage, sa préparation, et à partir de là, nous avons tracé des itinéraires possibles. Ce n’est qu’après avoir fait place au hasard que nous nous sommes senti•es prêt•es à fictionnaliser notre récit. En même temps, s’imposait à nous la nécessité de produire une fiction pour mieux conjurer le sort dans la vie réelle.

Malgré les différentes rencontres de Sofia, son voyage semble solitaire, essentiellement plongé dans l’obscurité. Pourriez-vous nous donner des précisions à ce sujet ?

À la convention de tatouage, Sofia trouve un espace de soutien et d’intimité, où les émotions personnelles et les souvenirs peuvent être discutés. Soudain, iel décide de s’isoler, sans trop d’explications. Pour mieux évoquer l’insaisissable, le film devient elliptique. Au fil de son errance nocturne, Sofia rencontre des gens qui soulignent le manque de réseau de soutien. Pour exprimer le sentiment d’isolement, nous avons dû marquer une très stricte séparation entre Sofia et les personnes qu’iel croisait. Nous avons parfois ôté toute trace de spontanéité de certaines rencontres, de certaines séquences. Ou encore, le cadrage attirait l’attention sur le paysage pour accentuer les émotions de Sofia, en particulier celles associées à la dureté et à la stagnation. Notre errance sur le campus nous a assez naturellement mené•es dans les recoins sombres, dans les espaces sans grande visibilité, où Sofia pouvait s’effacer jusqu’à disparition complète. Pour moi, nous devions absolument esquisser comment Sofia était vu•e et perçu•e en ce jour singulier de sa vie, et explorer l’ambiguïté entre le désir d’être vu•e et le désir d’invisibilité. 

La caméra accorde une attention particulière aux détails de l’espace et du corps, accentués par l’utilisation du format 4:3, et auxquels le support HDV confère une texture spécifique. Quelles idées ont inspiré la direction photo ?

En matière de création d’images, nous devions trouver coûte que coûte la bonne distance entre la caméra et Sofia. Nous devions parfois nous rapprocher d’ellui, en particulier pour les scènes intimes et les séquences de tatouage. Cela demandait une attention tactile de la part de la caméra et du public. Dans d’autres scènes, le paysage devait absolument se muer en présence témoin du bouleversement de Sofia. Le format 1,33 de l’image a contribué à créer cette impression de fixité de l’architecture, en accentuant le sentiment de verticalité et d’imposition. Dès le premier jour de tournage, le cadrage visait avant tout à centraliser le corps de Sofia. Mais dans certaines séquences, le format 4:3 reléguait Sofia aux marges, pour marquer là aussi l’importance de l’espace et de son déplacement. Entre proximité et distance, la caméra HDV convenait parfaitement à la capture de la texture et des couleurs des différentes matérialités avec lesquelles nous étions en contact, comme l’encre à tatouer, la peau des personnages, leurs vêtements et l’aspect du paysage.

Le film use de superpositions à la fois visuelles et sonores, souvent afin de faciliter le montage. Qu’est-ce qui vous a conduit à ce choix formel ?

Le processus de montage s’est fait à deux. J’ai d’abord effectué un premier montage très dense, trop respectueux de la matière première, et je sentais qu’il manquait quelque chose. J’ai ensuite invité Manoela Cezar à participer au montage et un travail commun a débuté entre le Brésil et le Portugal, où je vivais à cette époque. Son approche de l’image s’est toujours accompagnée d’une sensibilité onirique, et c’est elle qui a incorporé les superpositions d’images. Leur présence dans le film permet d’entremêler les différentes temporalités que nous souhaitions voir à l’écran : la chronologie linéaire de la journée de 24 heures de Sofia, le flashback avec un•e partenaire romantique et une séquence de rêve récurrent. Par conséquent, les superpositions permettent aussi de transmettre un sentiment d’accumulation étourdissante des émotions et des expériences de Sofia qui ont marqué cette période spécifique de sa vie. 

Propos recueillis par Marco Cipollini 

  • Compétition Premier Film

Fiche technique

Brésil | 2023 | 67’

Détenteurs des droits
Ladaia
André Bulascoschi
andre@ladaia.com

Pedro Gerardo
pedrocgeraldo@gmail.com