INTERVIEW – VOIN

After J. A(2020) the final component of a trilogy, you approach a new portrait. How did you get interested in Voin Voynov?

We met in 2007 in the context of Berlin’s electronic music scene. Everyone knew Voin for his extreme character; a multitude of unusual stories about him got around; some of them funny, some of them cause for concern at times. We became friends. I followed him one summer in Bulgaria, in his family and on visits paid to friends from childhood. Voin was born in Sofia and grew up under the communist regime; when it collapsed, a kind of wild capitalism was established in Bulgaria; his parents earned a lot of money really fast and Voin left for Western Europe. He had the words « EAST » and « WEST » tattooed on his right and left wrists, respectively. This division intrigued me.

 

Voin’s stories are presented like many different pieces in an incomplete puzzle. How do you account for this choice?

Voin was always telling new stories I wasn’t able to arrange chronologically. There was no possible life master narrative. Establishing causal or hierarchical relationships between memories failed to translate his character’s intensity. We needed to create gaps, emptiness between micro-narratives. It’s up to each and everyone of us to weave our own connections.

 

Intimate questions intersect with political problems linked to the Bulgarian regime. How did you get the interviews organized?

I was interested in the places Voin had grown up in: his grand-parents’ home in the countryside, the Soviet low-rent buildings in Sofia and the house in the luxury suburbs where his parents settled once the regime collapsed. These are the key places which enabled the triggering of intimate and collective memory. Then were added a few emblematic props: the National Palace of Culture, a Bingo…

 

Voin evokes memories, goes for a walk, plays, dances and also talks with his parents. How did you choose to stage him?

Voin is quite accustomed to playing with his own image: he’s an artist and stages himself in his own practice. I tried to create a staging space that would leave room for such a thing. The still frames create, with their light, an ambiguity about the nature of the stories being told: sometimes we’re left wondering whether or not he’s telling the truth.

 

The film crosses different places according to an enigmatic arbitrary logic. How did you work the editing?

I first worked with Sebastian Bodirsky. We looked for a structure enabling us to trace a path from the Soviet buildings to the pavilion house, but there was no counterpoint to Bulgaria, something to embody those twenty years Voin had spent in Western Europe. I only found it three years later, after digging deep into a film I shot in 2009 while I was deeply immersed in free parties somewhere in the Berlin suburbs where Voin was one of the protagonists.

 

Why mix different video formats with Super 8?

The image formats reflect different layers of memory; but associating one to a specific time seemed to me much too archetypal. I used the film for stories that were sometimes inspired by a more recent past than that evoked in the video sequences.

 

You are one of the founding members of Elinka Films, Voin’s production company. What is its specificity?

Created by women directors, it works horizontally. Elinka’s film-makers work on the company’s different films not only as producers but on all other positions involved in film-making according to a system of exchange that values each and everyone’s skills, making circulation between projects easier and enabling the existence of films difficult to produce in a conventional logic of financing.

 

 

Interviewed by Olivier Pierre

ENTRETIEN – VOIN

Vous abordez un nouveau portrait, après J.A(2020), le dernier volet d’une trilogie. Comment vous-êtes-vous intéressée à Voin Voynov ?

Nous nous sommes rencontrés en 2007 au sein de la communauté de la musique électronique berlinoise. Voin était connu de tous pour son caractère extrême ; une multitude d’histoires insolites circulaient à son égard, souvent drôles, parfois plus inquiétantes. Nous sommes devenus amis. Je l’ai suivi un été en Bulgarie, dans sa famille et quand il rendait visite à des amis d’enfance. Voin est né à Sofia et a grandi sous le communisme. À la chute du régime, un capitalisme sauvage s’est installé en Bulgarie, ses parents ont rapidement gagné de l’argent et Voin est parti vivre en Europe de l’Ouest. Il s’est fait tatouer « EST » sur son poignet droit, « OUEST » sur son poignet gauche. J’étais intéressée par cette division.

 

Les récits de Voin se présentent comme différentes pièces d’un puzzle incomplet. Pourquoi ce choix ?

Voin racontait sans cesse de nouvelles histoires que je n’arrivais pas à ordonner chronologiquement. Il n’y avait pas de grand récit de vie possible. Établir des rapports de causalité ou de hiérarchie entre les souvenirs ne traduisait pas l’intensité de son personnage. Il fallait créer des écarts, des vides entre les micro-récits. Il revient ainsi à chacun de tisser ses propres liens.

 

Des questions intimes croisent des problèmes politiques liés au régime bulgare. Comment avez-vous organisé les entretiens ?

J’étais intéressée par les endroits dans lesquels Voin avait grandi : la maison de ses grands-parents à la campagne, les barres d’immeubles soviétiques à Sofia et la maison dans la banlieue chic où se sont installés ses parents après la chute du régime. Ce sont ces lieux clés qui ont permis d’activer la mémoire intime et collective. Sont venus s’y ajouter certains décors emblématiques : le Palais national de la culture, un Bingo…

 

Voin évoque des souvenirs, se promène, joue, danse et dialogue aussi avec ses parents. Comment avez-vous choisi de le mettre en scène ?

Voin a l’habitude de jouer avec sa propre image, il est lui-même artiste et se met en scène dans sa pratique. J’ai essayé de créer un espace de mise en scène qui laisse la place à cela. Les cadres fixes, éclairés, créent une ambigüité sur la nature des récits racontés, on se demande parfois s’il dit ou non la vérité.

 

Le film traverse différents lieux selon un arbitraire énigmatique. Comment avez-vous travaillé le montage ?

J’ai d’abord travaillé avec Sebastian Bodirsky. Nous avons cherché une structure qui permette de tracer un chemin des immeubles soviétiques à la maison pavillonnaire, mais il manquait un contrepoint à la Bulgarie, quelque chose qui incarne les vingt ans que Voin avait passés en Europe de l’Ouest. Je ne l’ai trouvé que trois ans plus tard, en allant puiser dans un film que j’avais tourné en 2009 en immersion dans des free party aux alentours de Berlin, dont Voin était l’un des protagonistes.

 

Pourquoi mêler les différents formats vidéo avec le Super 8 ?

Les formats d’images reflètent différentes strates de mémoire, mais en associer un à une époque me paraissait trop archétypal. J’ai utilisé la pellicule pour des histoires qui font parfois appel à un passé plus récent que celui évoqué dans les séquences vidéo.

 

Vous êtes une des fondatrices d’Elinka Films, la société de production de Voin. Quelle est sa particularité ?

Créée par des réalisatrices, son fonctionnement est horizontal. Les cinéastes d’Elinka travaillent sur les différents films de la société, aussi bien en tant que productrices que sur tous les autres postes impliqués dans la fabrication des films, selon un système d’échange qui valorise les compétences de chacune, crée de la circulation entre les projets et permet de faire exister des films qui auraient du mal à s’inscrire dans une logique classique de financement.

 

 

Propos recueillis par Olivier Pierre