INTERVIEW – MATATA

Your film is built around a female figure who never speaks and is the object of the gaze of others. Why did you want to study this figure’s trajectory?

 

I am from the Omúgóle Nande community, a matriarchal culture in which women are the pillars of both physical and spiritual life. For centuries, this heritage has been suppressed and distorted by Western colonial logic, which imposed patriarchy and gendered violence (among other things). In this story of re-birth and transformation, returning to feminine strength and wisdom is an obvious first step in escaping colonial logic.

 

As a counterpoint, you also create an elusive masculine figure, who expresses himself through dance. Who is this figure? What relationship does it have with the female figure?

 

There is one lens through which this figure, played by Dorine Mokha, could appear masculine. But there is another lens through which gender is irrelevant and this character, instead of being viewed as “male” or “female,” is a mythical, even divine figure. In the protagonist’s—and my own—effort to divest of colonial logic, what matters is not the question of gender, but rather the presence and purpose of those beings who are capable of guiding us through transformation.

 

Dance plays many roles in your film: liberation, break in everyday life, ethnographic document… Why this central place given to dance?

From the era in which our villages were raided for slaves through the era of colonialism to the present “postcolonial” era of capitalist “development” schemes, our ways for passing on history and knowledge have become corrupted. The only accurate mediums of information we have are our bodies. We quite literally carry our memories in our blood, in our bones, in our DNA. And dance is a portal to those memories. But dance plays many roles in life — there is omúkuluma, a dance to communicate with the dead, and there is also obusingiri, a dance for the dead — one connects us with the spirits of those who have gone before, the other recognizes what is no longer living. The same is true in the film, there are dances that connect us to the ancestors and the possibilities our bodies contain for the future, and there are dances that recognize that we are — and always have been — dead when perceived through the colonial gaze.

Images in your film are something to be recreated, but also bearers of history, and finally also something of a predatory practice. How do these different aspects of images fit in for you?

 

The question of image is a fundamental question of perception. In the pursuit of power, images have been calibrated to a specific set of priorities that have everything to do with domination but that are often confused with aesthetics. In the name of “uplift” and, more recently, “development,” a certain aesthetic has been imposed on my culture—we have been forced to see and to represent ourselves in ways that make sense to Western colonial logic. In so doing, we violate ourselves. Matata engages numerous possibilities—from violence to liberation—of image and representation in an effort to expose the motives behind aesthetic “norms” and to propose possibilities rooted in other sources of knowledge. I call this practice recoding aesthetics.

 

Could you tell us about this museum where the male dancer sits down the first time he is seen? What is it? Does it tell us anything about the relationship to History you seek to establish?

Like the church depicted later in the film, the museum is another institution that is presented as though it contains knowledge. But the value of such institutions is not universal. In fact, from some perspectives the knowledge imprisoned in such institutions is dead. And deadly. By contrast, the angel ushers the protagonist through a process of remembering the living history contained within the bodies of knowledge of which she is a part.

Matata has no words, but you have worked on the sound with great precision. How did you construct this sound track, and its articulation to the visual montage?

Like churches and museums, languages often function as institutions — as impediments to embodied knowledge. So in this film I refuse the violences embedded in language and translation. By contrast, the way I understand sound in film is as a character of its own. In Matata, sound plays the role of questioning the relationship between resources and history in Congo. The sound is comprised of natural elements—earth, air, fire, and water—that have been systemically exploited for more than a century. The entire soundscape was composed by sampling and manipulating the materials (rubber, wood, copper, volcanic stone, coltan, niobium) that were — and are — extracted from Congo to fuel the industrial revolution, the World Wars, the digital revolution, and now the robotics revolution. In this sense it is an invitation to hear colonial logic. But the narrative structure of Matata is based on the ancient culture of proverbs, which teaches us that every element has the potential to be both destructive and nurturing. Thus sound in this film is also an invitation to imagine a relationship between resources and history that values both human and natural life.

 

Interviewed by Nathan Letoré.

ENTRETIEN – MATATA

Votre film est construit autour d’une figure féminine, muette et objet du regard d’autrui. D’où vient votre désir d’étudier la trajectoire de cette figure ?

 

Je suis issu de la communauté Omúgóle Nande, une culture matriarcale dans laquelle les femmes sont les piliers de la vie physique et spirituelle. Pendant des siècles, cet héritage a été réprimé et déformé par la logique coloniale occidentale, qui a imposé le patriarcat et les violences sexistes (entre autres choses). Dans cette histoire de renaissance et de transformation, le retour à la force et à la sagesse féminines est un premier pas évident pour sortir de cette logique coloniale.

 

En contrepoint, vous utilisez aussi une figure masculine élusive, qui s’exprime par la danse. Quelle est cette figure ? Quel rapport entretient-elle avec celle de la femme ?

 

Ce personnage, interprété par Dorine Mokha, peut en effet sembler masculin. Mais d’un autre point de vue, on peut considérer que le sexe du personnage n’est pas pertinent ici, et que plutôt qu’un être « masculin » ou « féminin », il s’agit d’une figure mythologique, voire divine. À travers les efforts de la protagoniste – et de moi-même – pour se débarrasser de la logique coloniale, ce qui importe, ce n’est pas la question du genre, mais plutôt la présence et la finalité de ces êtres qui peuvent nous guider sur la voie de la transformation.

 

La danse joue plusieurs rôles dans votre film : de libération, d’irruption dans le quotidien, de document ethnographique… Pourquoi lui accorder cette place centrale ?

 

Depuis l’époque où nos villages étaient raflés pour faire de nous des esclaves, suivie par l’aire du colonialisme, jusqu’à l’aire « postcoloniale » actuelle des plans de « développement » capitalistes, nos moyens de transmettre notre histoire et nos connaissances ont été corrompus. Nos corps sont les seuls vecteurs fidèles qu’il nous reste. Nous portons littéralement nos souvenirs dans notre sang, dans nos os, dans notre ADN. Et la danse est un portail pour ces souvenirs. Mais la danse joue de nombreux rôles dans notre vie : il y a par exemple l’omúkuluma, une danse pour communiquer avec les morts, ou encore l’obusingiri, une danse pour les morts ; la première nous met en contact avec les esprits des défunts, la seconde reconnaît ce qui a cessé d’être. Il en va de même dans le film : certaines danses nous mettent en relation avec nos ancêtres et avec les possibilités que recèlent nos corps pour l’avenir ; et d’autres reconnaissent que nous sommes morts, et que nous l’avons toujours été, dans le regard du colonisateur.

Les images sont dans votre film quelque chose à recréer, mais aussi porteuses d’histoire, et enfin relevant d’une pratique prédatrice. Comment s’articulent ces différents rapports à l’image pour vous ?

 

La question de l’image est une question fondamentale de perception. Dans la quête du pouvoir, les images ont été calibrées pour répondre à un ensemble spécifique de priorités qui ont tout à voir avec la domination, mais que l’on confond souvent avec l’esthétique. Au nom de l’« encouragement », ou plus récemment du « développement », on a imposé une certaine esthétique à ma culture : nous avons été forcés de nous voir et de nous représenter de façons compatibles avec la perspective du colonialisme occidental. Ce faisant, nous nous violons nous-mêmes. Matata explore de nombreuses possibilités – de la violence à la libération – d’image et de représentation, afin de révéler les motivations derrière les « normes » esthétiques, et de proposer des alternatives ancrées dans d’autres sources de connaissances. J’appelle cela recoder l’esthétique.

 

Pourriez-vous nous parler de ce musée où s’assoit l’homme la première fois qu’on le voit ? Peut-on y lire un certain type de rapport à l’Histoire que vous cherchez à construire ?

 

Tout comme l’église montrée plus tard dans le film, le musée est une institution sensée détenir le savoir. Mais la valeur de ces institutions n’est pas universelle. En fait, d’un certain point de vue, le savoir détenu par ces institutions est mort. Et mortel. En revanche, l’ange pousse la protagoniste à se souvenir de l’histoire vivante contenue dans les corps de savoir dont elle fait partie.

Matata ne fait entendre aucune parole, mais le son y est très travaillé. Comment avez-vous conçu cette bande-son, et son articulation avec le montage image ?

 

Au même titre que les églises et les musées, les langues fonctionnent souvent comme des institutions : elles entravent le savoir incarné. Dans le film, j’ai donc refusé les violences véhiculées par le langage et la traduction. Par contre, j’envisage le son dans le film comme un personnage à part entière. Dans Matata, le son a pour fonction d’interroger le lien entre les ressources et l’histoire au Congo. Le son est composé d’éléments naturels – la terre, l’air, le feu et l’eau – qui ont été systématiquement exploités pendant plus d’un siècle. Le paysage sonore tout entier a été composé en samplant et en manipulant des matériaux (caoutchouc, bois, cuivre, pierre volcanique, coltan, niobium) qui ont été – et sont toujours – extraits du Congo pour alimenter la révolution industrielle, les Guerres mondiales, la révolution numérique, et désormais la révolution robotique. En ce sens, le son est une invitation à entendre la logique coloniale. Mais la structure narrative de Matata est fondée sur la culture ancestrale des proverbes, qui nous apprennent que tout élément a la possibilité d’être à la fois destructeur et bénéfique. Le son dans le film nous invite donc aussi à imaginer une relation entre les ressources et l’histoire qui attache de l’importance à la vie humaine et à la vie de la nature.

 

 

Propos recueillis par Nathan Letoré.