Tribute to Bertrand Bonello

Parallels Screens

It was a topsy-turvy kind of war: instead of producing cripples and corpses, it created the most beautiful bodies in the world.
César Aira, The War of the Gyms

Imaginary daughter of zombie Clairvius Narcisse (Bijou Mackenson), Mélissa (Wislanda Louimat) slowly comes out of the shadows in a wedding dress, stops and looks straight at the camera for a long time, to a song by Gerry & the Pacemakers, I’ll Never Walk Alone. This is the closing shot in Zombi Child, separated from the rest of the story by a few intertitles that relate what happened to Narcisse after he found his relatives, and again that then estimate the number of recent cases of zombification in Haiti, thus confirming the reality and continuity of a phenomenon to those who might be tempted to restrict it to the realm of the imagination. This brief epilogue concentrates all the contrasts of the film in a single frame, at once intense, magnificent and dark, that might be called an epitaph, seeing that the whole sequence looks so much like the girl is getting out of a tombstone.

Bertrand Bonello’s taste for contrasts is well known. He obviously enjoys them, and gives them multiple forms, from the recurrent use of split-screens to his anachronistic music choices, from the clear split of spaces between the inside and the outside, to the split of stories and times, and even the increasing hybridity of genres and forms in his work.

The parallel between the two stories in Zombi Child, that of the Haitian zombie Clairvius and that of the French teenage girl Fanny (Louise Labecque), shows the beautiful strangeness of their relationship. Because, not only are the two eras fifty years apart, but time unfolds ever so di erently for them: the zombie who has escaped slave trade has been wandering outside for almost twenty years, while the teenager, in the gilded cage of her prestigious French school, only longs for her lover for a few months, although it seems like an eternity to her.

Through these contrasts, one part ends up possessing the other, even though we can never really tell which one does so.
Slave possession, colonial possession, love possession: the various degrees of their consequences reverberate according to a historical construction that is “discontinuous, jolty”, as the unexpected professor at the girls’ school, Patrick Boucheron, encourages us to think. When Mélissa emerges suddenly from darkness, in an old-fashioned wedding dress, at the very last moment of the film, she brings to light all these possessions in one highly- contrasted shot.

This appearance is cut o from the main storyline, but at the same time, it condenses all of it on a single image, both obvious and complex. One may wonder whether this image did not underpin the writing of the whole film. Indeed, Bonello has mentioned in a few interviews how images sometimes come to his mind quite early on in the creative process of a film, and fuel his urge to write – for instance, the tears of sperm that fill the eyes of the prostitute disfigured with a permanent grin in House of Tolerance (L’Apollonide, souvenirs de la maison close). It seems to be the case, anyway, and it calls to mind other images, like the little girl in a bloodstained white nightdress, who makes her way through the darkness in the Paris Opera, and walks towards prima ballerina Marie-Agnès Gillot in Sarah Winchester, Ghost Opera (Sarah Winchester, opéra fantôme, FIDMarseille 2016).

To be precise, that child was a real spirit, the ghost in that “ghost opera” (this is how Bonello often calls his unfinished projects, those, he says, that haven’t thought enough about their own budget). She was little Annie Winchester, who su ered from a degenerative illness that was then called “marasmus”, and whose eventual death plunged her mother
into madness. On the advice of psychics, Sarah decided to build a house with several floors and dozens of rooms to accommodate the ghosts of her dead relatives. Bonello told this story simply by superimposing texts over images of the dancer or of a choir rehearsing, slowly letting heterogeneous elements (texts and dances, images and singing, story and performances) vibrate in unison in a kind of trance, brought about by the combined works of the di erent artists he was filming. The result is an apparition straight from the marasmus of creation, considering that the etymology of the word implies the idea of exhaustion.

At the end of The Pornographer (Le Pornographe), the last words of Jacques (Jean- Pierre Léaud), an ageing director who is also busy building the foundations of a house with his own hands, called for a single thing: vigour. “I try, but it is hard. What is there to hope for tomorrow? More physical strength, at least.” We know how tiredness is, as much as beauty, the driving force in Bonello’s films. Just like in the beginning of House of Tolerance, when two prostitutes pass each other in a hallway: one wishes that the party started for good, while the other wonders if it isn’t already over, saying that she is so tired that she wishes she could sleep for a thousand years. Or in Saint-Laurent, when the fashion designer (Gaspard Ulliel) takes a room under Swann in a prestigious hotel, not for business, just to sleep. Or else, in On War (De la guerre), when Bertrand (Mathieu Amalric) is ordered to get some rest, as soon as he is done questing for pleasure the sect from. Bertrand, Tiresia, Jacques, Clairvius… all these stories are incarnated by bodies which are exhausted, deprived of sleep and energy, yet still eager to claim what they feel they are being denied.

Just like Marguerite (Romane Bohringer) in Something Organic (Quelque chose d’organique), from their cloistered world, they could like to intensify pleasure or pain, so that they can still believe in the possibility of living in a time that has condemned the idea of an alternative. How can one arouse that vigour, that momentum that is missing a priori and
a fortiori in an enclosed universe, if it is true that the kingdom is fading away because it “only considers its own enjoyment” (On War)? If we were to trace the origin of that pattern, it would probably be in the famous opening scene of On War, when the director played by Matthieu Amalric asks if he can spend the night alone in a funeral parlour as research for a film. At dusk, he takes o his shoes, puts down his cell phone and lays in a co n in the showroom, to see what it feels like to be dead. Willing to trade eternal rest for a little nap, he tries other positions, and the lid suddenly slams shut, burying him for the night.

After the gag comes panic, then petrified silence, dark screen, self-focused breathing… In the morning, when someone sets him free, Bertrand mechanically sits up straight like a Z-movie zombie, at first stunned and then exhilarated by the secret mix of happiness and terror he has just felt, and that he will try to find again in the cult to which Charles (Guillaume Depardieu) invites him soon after. Even though it sparks neither hallucination nor mystical vision – the feeling is made even more real by its bare representation – such extreme sensory deprivation calls to mind William Hurt’s experience in Altered States (Ken Russell, 1980). Both films feature the same idea that trance(s) – from exhilaration or fear
– can open alternative realities that our fellow contemporaries are missing. Both films also open – as a writing challenge or an assessment of their day and age – with the most enclosed predicament.

This situation is similar to what Bonello himself experienced himself when he spent several nights in the set of a department store recreated for the shooting of Nocturama, so that he could figure out shots for the following day, or more recently, when he explored the Maisons d’éducation de la Légion d’honneur in Saint-Denis, where half of Zombi Child takes place. Both times he experienced a world without windows where, without points of reference, time itself stops going by. In these tombs, co ns or brothels (in French maisons closes, literally “closed houses”), hotel rooms, apartment bedrooms, manors or department stores, old-world schools or opera houses – like obvious echoes of movie theatres, where we cut ourselves from the world for a while; and also, one imagines, like the apartments where these stories are conceived – the most crucial task is to create time.

To create time: that usually means, to willingly agree to lose control of it. It is what Terranova (Laurent Lucas) asks Tiresia (Clara Chauveaux), whom he holds prisoner at his house, before he runs out, because he doesn’t want to hear her scream or struggle: “I’m o now. Because I’d really like to avoid all these moments when, each time I’ll come into this room, you’ll ask me to let you go. All the times when you’ll scream, because I can’t stand it. And also, all the times when you’ll say that it’s impossible. Because it is possible. Let’s try to save some time, I’ll come back when this time is saved.”

Based on these states of forced sequestration or voluntary confinement, Bonello entrusts art with the di cult mission, at first glance never to be accomplished, to pay close attention to fragility (for instance, when he plays a journalist from Libération at the end of Saint-Laurent, that’s the angle he wants to stress in the fashion designer’s obituary), while being careful not to be entrapped by it, even if it means showing happiness or panic. To make time is actually to make that time of confinement liveable, to find an idea that can last long enough to make a film out of it. Either aging or heading for a fall, Bonello’s characters claim that time that is missing, or stolen by the forced march of their day and age. Even zombies, which are so slow in Tourneur’s film, can’t help running, as one of the teenagers in Zombi Child points out in a blasé tone of voice. Yet, the child that Bonello invents today comes back from battle in a slow, regal walk.

 

Antoine Thirion,
Programmer, film critic

Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019
Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019
12.07.2019 - 15:15
Théâtre de l’Œuvre
Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019
Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019
Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019
Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019
Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019
Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019

Hommage à Bertrand Bonello

Écrans parallèles

Nous avons eu la guerre à l’envers : au lieu de produire des mutilés et des cadavres, elle a produit les plus beaux corps du monde.
César Aira, La guerre des gymnases

Fille imaginaire du zombi Clairvius Narcisse (Bijou Mackenson), Mélissa (Wislanda Louimat) surgit lentement de l’obscurité en robe de mariée et fait halte pour un long regard-caméra souligné par une chanson de Gerry & the Pacemakers, I’ll Never Walk Alone. C’est le dernier plan de Zombi Child, séparé du récit par quelques cartons ayant relaté ce qu’il advint de Narcisse après qu’il eût retrouvé ses proches, puis estimé le nombre de cas récents de zombification en Haïti, attestant de la réalité et de la survivance de ce phénomène pour ceux qui le cantonneraient encore à des contrées imaginaires. Ce bref épilogue rassemble les contrastes du film en une image dense, éblouissante et ténébreuse, qu’il faudrait peut-être qualifier d’épitaphe, tant la séquence entière ressemble à une sortie de tombeau.

On connaît le goût du cinéaste pour ces contrastes. Le plaisir manifeste qu’il y prend, les formes multiples qu’il leur donnent, de l’usage récurrent des split-screens à l’anachronisme des choix musicaux, de la scission franche des espaces entre dedans et dehors à celle des récits et des époques, jusqu’à l’hybridité formelle et de genre croissante de ses films. Le parallélisme des deux histoires de Zombi Child, celle du zombi haïtien Clairvius et de l’adolescente française Fanny (Louise Labecque), accuse la belle bizarrerie de leur rapport. Car ces deux époques ne sont pas seulement distantes de cinquante ans, elles se déplient à des vitesses sans commune mesure : le zombi échappé de la traite esclavagiste erre dehors pendant près de vingt ans tandis que l’adolescente, dans la prison dorée d’une école française prestigieuse, ne se languit de son amant éloigné que pendant quelques mois, qui certes lui paraissent une éternité.

Par ces jeux de contraste, une partie en vient à posséder l’autre, sans que l’on puisse jamais dire catégoriquement laquelle. Possession esclavagiste, possession coloniale, possession amoureuse : les degrés divers de leurs conséquences se répercutent au gré d’une construction historique « discontinue, hoquetante », comme Patrick Boucheron, professeur surprise de cette école de jeunes filles, invite à la considérer. Lorsque Mélissa surgit du noir, en robe de mariée désuète, aux tous derniers instants du film, ce sont toutes ces possessions qu’elle met à jour dans une image hautement contrastée.

On peut se demander si cette apparition isolée du corps du récit qu’elle ramasse en une image évidente et complexe, n’a pas présidé à son écriture. Si elle n’est pas l’une de celles, Bonello en parle parfois en entretien, qui lui viennent tôt à l’esprit dans l’élaboration d’un film et qui en alimentent le désir – par exemple, les larmes de sperme suintant des yeux de Madeleine (Alice Barnole), la prostituée au sourire balafré de L’Apollonide, souvenirs de la maison close. Elle y ressemble en tout cas, et en rappelle d’autres encore, dont peut-être celle d’une fillette à la nuisette blanche maculée de sang qui se fraie en chemin dans l’obscurité de l’Opéra de Paris et s’avance face à la danseuse étoile Marie-Agnès Gillot dans Sarah Winchester, opéra fantôme (FIDMarseille 2016).

Cette enfant était, en l’occurrence, une vraie revenante, le fantôme de cet opéra fantôme (ainsi que Bonello a coutume d’appeler ses projets non réalisés ; ceux, dit-il, qui n’auraient pas suffisamment pensé leur économie) : la petite Annie Winchester atteinte d’une maladie dégénérative qualifiée à l’époque de « marasme », dont la mort précoce avait plongé sa mère dans la folie. Sur les conseils de mediums, Sarah s’était mise en tête de bâtir une maison comptant plusieurs étages et des dizaines de chambres pour accueillir les fantômes de ses proches défunts. Cette histoire, Bonello la racontait au moyen de textes simplement superposés à l’image de la danseuse ou d’un chœur en répétitions, laissant peu à peu des éléments hétérogènes – textes et danses, images et chant, histoire et performances – vibrer à l’unisson dans une sorte de transe à laquelle conduisait le labeur conjugué des différents artistes dont il documentait le travail ; apparition tout droit sortie du marasme de la création, si l’on se souvient que l’étymologie insinue l’idée d’épuisement.

Au terme du Pornographe, les derniers mots de Jacques (Jean-Pierre Léaud), cinéaste vieillissant lui aussi occupé à poser les fondations d’une maison qu’il voudrait construire de ses propres mains, ne réclamaient plus que cela : de la vigueur. « J’essaie, mais ce n’est pas facile. Que faut-il espérer pour demain ? Plus de force physique au moins. » On sait combien la fatigue est, à jeu égal avec la beauté, la grande force à l’œuvre dans les films de Bonello. C’est le début de L’Apollonide, où deux des occupantes de la maison close se croisent dans un couloir, l’une espérant que la fête commence pour de bon, l’autre avouant qu’elle est peut-être déjà finie, sa fatigue étant telle qu’elle réclamerait de s’épancher dans un sommeil de mille ans. Ou celui de Saint-Laurent, lorsque le créateur de la maison de couture (Gaspard Ulliel) prend une chambre au nom de Swann dans un grand hôtel, non pour affaires, juste pour dormir. Ou encore l’injonction faite à Bertrand (Mathieu Amalric) dans la secte de De la guerre, d’aller se reposer dès lors qu’il n’est plus occupé à prendre du plaisir. Bertrand, Tiresia, Jacques, Clairvius… : ces histoires sont portées par des corps exténués, privés aussi bien de vigueur que du repos, et qui n’ont pourtant nullement renoncé à revendiquer ce dont ils se sentent privés.

Comme Marguerite (Romane Bohringer) dans Quelque chose d’organique, ils voudraient exacerber depuis leurs univers fermés le plaisir ou la souffrance pour croire à la possibilité d’habiter une époque qui a condamné l’idée d’une alternative. Comment susciter cette vigueur ou cet élan qui manque a priori, et a fortiori dans un univers clos,
s’il est vrai que le royaume s’éteint parce qu’il « ne regarde rien d’autre que sa propre jouissance » (De la guerre) ? S’il fallait en retracer la naissance, il n’y aurait peut-être pas de meilleure entrée que la fameuse scène inaugurale de De la guerre, où le cinéaste joué par Amalric demande en préparation d’un film à passer la nuit seul dans un établissement de pompes funèbres. À la nuit tombée, non sans avoir pris soin de retirer ses chaussures et de se défaire de son téléphone portable, il s’allonge dans un cercueil d’exposition pour voir ce que ça fait d’être mort. Tandis qu’il essaie d’autres positions, troquant l’idée d’un sommeil éternel contre celle d’une petite sieste, le volet se ferme dans un claquement sans appel et l’inhume pour la nuit.

Passé le gag vient la panique, puis un silence pétrifié, un écran noir, une respiration qui se concentre sur elle-même… Au matin quand on l’en délivre, Bertrand relève mécaniquement le buste comme un vampire de série Z, ahuri d’abord puis exalté par le secret mélange de bonheur et d’effroi qu’il a ressenti, et qu’il voudra retrouver dans la secte à laquelle Charles (Guillaume Depardieu) l’invite peu après. Quoiqu’elle ne s’accompagne ici d’aucune hallucination ni vision mystique – la sensation est d’autant plus réelle que sa représentation est minimale – cette extrême privation sensorielle peut évoquer celle dont William Hurt fait l’expérience dans Altered States (Ken Russell, 1980). C’est la même croyance que la, ou les transes – l’exaltation comme l’appréhension – permettent d’ouvrir ces réalités alternatives dont le contemporain ressent le manque. La même façon aussi d’ouvrir un récit, par défi d’écriture ou constat d’époque, par ce qu’il a de plus fermé.

Cette situation rappelle celle dont Bonello relate avoir plusieurs nuits fait l’expérience dans le décor de grand magasin reconstitué pour le tournage de la seconde partie de Nocturama, afin d’y méditer les plans de la journée de tournage à venir, ou encore récemment par la découverte des Maisons d’éducation de la Légion d’honneur de Saint-Denis où il situe la moitié de l’action de Zombi Child : expériences d’un monde sans fenêtres, où le temps privé de mesure, ne passe plus. Dans ces tombeaux, cercueils ou maisons closes, chambres d’hôtels ou appartements, manoirs ou grands magasins, écoles d’antan ou opéras – échos bien sûr des salles de cinémas où l’on se retranche momentanément du monde ; et encore, on l’imagine sans mal, des appartements où ces histoires s’écrivent – la tâche la plus cruciale est d’inventer du temps.

Inventer du temps : c’est-à-dire, souvent, de consentir sans résistance à en perdre le contrôle. C’est ce que demande Terranova (Laurent Lucas) à Tiresia (Clara Chauveaux) qu’il a séquestrée chez lui, fuyant pour ne pas l’entendre se débattre et hurler : « Je vais sortir. Parce que j’aimerais vraiment éviter tous ces moments où chaque fois que je vais rentrer dans cette pièce tu vas me demander de te laisser partir. Tous les moments où tu vas crier parce que je supporte pas les cris. Et aussi tous les moments où tu vas me dire que c’est impossible. Parce que c’est possible. Essayons de gagner du temps, je reviendrai quand on l’aura gagné ce temps. »

Partant de ces états de séquestration forcée ou de réclusion volontaire, Bonello assigne à l’art la mission difficile, jamais a priori gagnée, de tendre l’oreille à la fragilité – jouant un journaliste de Libération à la fin de Saint- Laurent, c’est l’angle qu’il invite à ne pas négliger dans sa nécrologie du couturier – tout autant qu’à une exigence de ne pas s’y laisser enfermer, quitte à faire entendre le bonheur et la panique. Inventer du temps, c’est rendre ce temps de claustration habitable, trouver une idée qui puisse durer assez longtemps pour donner lieu à un film. Vieillissants ou toujours déjà acculés à leur perte, les personnages de ce cinéma revendiquent ce temps qui manque, et dont les privent une époque qui va à marche forcée. Même les zombis, si lents chez Tourneur, ne peuvent plus s’empêcher de courir, note d’un ton blasé l’une des adolescentes de Zombi Child – mais c’est dans une lente marche souveraine que l’enfant que lui invente aujourd’hui Bonello revient de la bataille.

 

Antoine Thirion,
Programmateur, critique de cinéma

Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019
Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019
12.07.2019 - 15:15
Théâtre de l’Œuvre
Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019
Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019
Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019
Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019
Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019
Synopsis

En savoir +
EP - Hommage à Bertrand Bonello 2019