2022

Interview – Kristina

Interview with Nikola Spasic

Where did you meet Kristina and how did this film project come about?
Five years ago, I enrolled in doctoral studies, and I wanted docufiction to be my Ph.D. topic. I started looking for a person whose personality and life would inspire me to start the research. My screenwriter, Milanka Gvoić, told me about Kristina whom she saw on a show on YouTube. I watched that video and we agreed to find her and meet her. Kristina liked the docufiction idea and our next meetings were taking place in a café, always with a list of prepared questions so we could get to know and understand her better. I quickly realized that I could work with Kristina on her acting skills, and that made me feel at ease. An important moment in the film development happened when Kristina invited us to her house. The space where she lives, that she decorated herself with a lot of dedication, made a deep impression on me because of its authenticity and photogenicity.

We are invited to share her intimacy and slices of her life. Can you tell us about the writing of the film and how you collaborated with Kristina? How did she participate in writing the story and the dialogues? How did you work together on the progression of the story?
We quickly gained each other’s trust, and that trust is, in fact, the foundation on which this film was built. Kristina did not participate in the dialogue-writing process and the story development, but we built her character on her real-life interests and life perspective. The lines were written in a way that it seems like they are emerging from Kristina’s sensibility and often from her experience. That enabled her to accept them easily and to deliver them very convincingly. At the beginning, we shot the scenes where she was only given some input on what to say, while other actors and actresses had their lines. Kristina’s talent led her to be able to respond to all of the acting challenges.

You compose very beautiful shots, often still, from her intimate spaces and the places she goes through. What were your thoughts on the formal choices and the treatment of the image? How did you select the locations?
Due to another project and just before we started working on this one, Milanka and I were dealing with the period encompassing the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th century. While we were having long conversations about how prostitutes were being treated in literature, art, and on film until now, something just clicked, and everything we were doing until recently and the things we were starting to do merged. At that moment, it seemed logical, the only thing possible, really, that the film about a sex worker should be visually inspired by French impressionists. The end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th century was actually a period in which prostitutes and courtesans were given their spot not only in art but also in French literature.
Precisely because of the impressionists, Igor Lazić, our director of photography, and I agreed that we should use static shots in the film. Another reason is that I wanted the film to seem more observational and the only way I could achieve that was to use long, static wide shots so that the viewers could not differentiate between documentary and fiction. We wanted the exterior shots to follow the impressionist’s motifs, so Milanka and I were not only authors and producers but also the location managers. We spent a lot of time traveling across Serbia and taking pictures of the landscapes. As a result of Igor Lazic’s talent, the chosen locations in the film became magical.

Can you tell us about the shooting? In what ways did you accompany Kristina in the interpretation of her own role? How much of it was improvisation?
The shooting lasted five years and was done in stages. Each fall, we gathered the crew and started shooting, and right after that, I edited that material, and Milanka wrote new versions of the script. Practically, the editing and the writing process were happening simultaneously. We had to do it that way because we did not know what we would get from the observational scenes and improv scenes, but we always managed to fit the documentary into fiction and fiction into documentary. Some beautifully weird stuff happened to us as well. For example, before every shoot, there was an idea to embed the bare feet motif in the film, and then, totally unexpectedly, bare feet also appeared in the scene with the regression therapy which was shot in the penultimate phase on which we did not have any effect on whatsoever because it was strictly observational. It was a sign that we managed to catch that right screenwriting thread. I finished multimedia directing studies and I have experience in working on short fiction and documentary film, but also in theater, and with this film, I wanted to have a process through which I would get to various solutions as one does in the theater. I thought that was the only way that I could have something authentic because, on film, directing is often reduced to a mere realization of a script, and the end result is a product and not artwork.

Of all the actors and actresses, only Marko and Kristina play their own roles. In which way did you feel it was necessary to give the secondary roles to professional actors?
Not all roles were assigned to professional actors. Some of the actors are professionals, some are amateurs, and some are not actors at all. We hired professional actors for roles that had many lines, like the role of Mrs. Maria, who Kristina visits to find antiques, or the role of the curator at the Art Gallery “Sava Šumanović”. The lines Mrs. Maria and the curator are saying are based on historical facts, so even though those scenes are fictional, they have a factographic basis. Jelena, who is playing Kristina’s friend, is also a professional actress and that is why, at the beginning of shooting, I had to shift the acting load of their joint scenes to Jelena so it could be easier for Kristina to work. Their friend in the movie, Zvonko the painter, is an amateur actor, but he really is a painter, and that made him feel relaxed while delivering his lines.

How did you write the beautiful confessional sequence between Marko and Kristina? Did this discussion really take place?
When we decided that Marko would be the male leading role, I realized that their talk on the bench should be authentic, and I think that was a good idea. Then a hard task followed. We thought that it was important for their first deep and honest conversation to take place in front of the camera to achieve authenticity, and they really wanted to get to know each other better. We decided to explain to Kristina why it was important for her not to talk with Marko before the shooting of that scene, she understood and promised not to be in contact with him. She kept her promise because – that is who Kristina is. Only a few lines at the beginning of the conversation were written, and after that, they were honestly sharing their experiences and perspectives, and behind the camera, our screenwriter directed the conversation toward the topics we needed so we could complete the story. We are extremely grateful for the honesty they shared with us.

The film ends, Kristina does not join Marko and leaves. Can you shed some light on this enigmatic and open ending? What does it symbolize?
Milanka, the screenwriter, has a philosophy degree and she wanted us to deal with the notions of faith, love, and freedom through this film. Our goal was to make us wonder what we really talk about when we use words like family, moral, coincidence and time, and I think we managed to do it because I believe that this film really does urge us to question ourselves and the world we live in, and the questioning itself is enough because it is the beginning of understanding.

Interview by Claire Lasolle

Synopsis

El Agua - water, quite simply – comes back to the village, and moves from the romps in the sky to the riverbed, from the outset threatening to overflow. Rumours fly in the small town, rumours...

En savoir +
Festival 2022
Synopsis

Juliette Dominati A woman in her forties, a young adult, a little girl: Lola, at three different stages of her life. The eldest tells the others her memories as they act them out. On the set,...

En savoir +
EP – Les Sentiers Expanded 2022
Synopsis

In Kyiv, the war still seems inconceivable, but the pandemic forces a mother and her daughter to spend the lockdown in their shared apartment. The mother is a piano teacher who keeps giving lessons...

En savoir +
Official Selection 2022
Synopsis

Florence Pazzottu A woman sweeps the floor, then hands the broom to a man: he sweeps a bit, and hands it back to her. In this film, named after Vasari's biography of Giorgione, man and woman reenact...

En savoir +
Other gems 2022
Synopsis

Minia Biabiany’s work (films, installations, sculptures) is informed by her experience as a Guadeloupean woman, she is unapologetic about her work being inseparable from her homeland. Here, water...

En savoir +
Official Selection 2022
Synopsis

Janaína Nagata Janaína Nagata, brazilian film director, buys a 16mm film reel on the internet without knowing its contents: she discovers an Afrikaner family film shot in South Africa in the...

En savoir +
Other gems 2022
Synopsis

Pierre Creton In the Paris metro, there’s a man in a black mask. An anti-vax demonstration passes by the indifferent camera. The man goes home, the sound of social anger following him inside, but...

En savoir +
Other gems 2022
Synopsis

Pauline Bastard What is political rhetoric? How is a word embodied? How do we establish a listening ear? These are all questions at the heart of so called politics. And just as decisive, who is...

En savoir +
Other gems 2022
Synopsis

La vie des hommes infâmes (The Life of Infamous Men) was the project for a book that never saw the light of day but for which Michel Foucault wrote a preface. He wanted to collect the written...

En savoir +
Official Selection 2022
Synopsis

Divided into three chapters, A General Disappointment is an existential meditation based on a text read through a series of long still frames. These stage the director Serge Garcia in everyday...

En savoir +
Official Selection 2022

2022

Entretien – Kristina

Entretien avec Nikola Spasic

Comment avez-vous fait la rencontre de Kristina et comment le projet est-il né ?
Il y a cinq ans, j’ai commencé un doctorat et je voulais que mon sujet de thèse soit le docufiction. Je me suis mis en quête d’une personne dont la personnalité et le vécu m’inspireraient pour ma recherche. Ma scénariste, Milanka Gvoić, m’a parlé de Kristina qu’elle avait découverte dans une émission sur YouTube. J’ai vu la vidéo et on a décidé de la retrouver pour organiser une rencontre. Kristina appréciait l’idée du docufiction et nos rencontres ultérieures ont eu lieu dans un café, toujours avec une liste de questions préparées à l’avance afin qu’on apprenne à la connaître et à la comprendre mieux. Je me suis vite rendu compte que je pouvais travailler avec Kristina sur sa technique d’actrice, ce qui m’a mis à l’aise. Un moment important dans le développement du film a eu lieu lorsque Kristina nous a invités chez elle. Le lieu dans lequel elle vit, la façon dont elle l’a décoré avec beaucoup de soin, m’a laissé une forte impression à cause de son authenticité et de sa photogénie.

Nous sommes invités à partager son intimité et des tranches de sa vie. Pouvez-vous nous en dire plus sur l’écriture du film et comment vous avez collaboré avec Kristina ? Comment a-t-elle participé à l’écriture de l’histoire et des dialogues ? Comment avez-vous travaillé ensemble sur l’évolution de l’histoire ?
On a vite gagné sa confiance et réciproquement, et cette confiance est en réalité le fondement sur lequel repose le film. Kristina n’a pas participé à l’écriture des dialogues et au développement de l’histoire, néanmoins nous avons construit son personnage sur ses véritables centres d’intérêt et sa vision de la vie. Les dialogues ont été écrits de sorte à donner l’impression qu’ils sortent tout droit de la sensibilité de Kristina et souvent de son expérience. Cela lui a permis de les accepter facilement et de les dire de façon convaincante. Au début, nous avons tourné les scènes où on lui donnait quelques indications sur ce qu’elle devait dire, alors que les autres acteurs-rices avaient des dialogues. Le talent de Kristina lui a permis de répondre à tous les défis posés par le jeu d’acteur.

Vous composez de très beaux plans, souvent fixes, de ses espaces intimes et des lieux qu’elle traverse. Comment avez-vous réfléchi aux choix formels et au traitement de l’image ? Comment avez-vous choisi les décors ?
En raison d’un autre projet et peu avant de commencer à travailler sur celui-ci, Milanka et moi travaillions sur la période allant de la fin du XIXème et le début du XXème siècle. Lors de nos longs échanges sur le traitement des prostituées dans la littérature, l’art et au cinéma jusqu’à aujourd’hui, on a eu un déclic : tout ce qu’on avait fait jusqu’alors se recoupait avec ce que nous venions d’entreprendre. A ce moment-là, il paraissait logique (tout autre choix eut été impossible) qu’un film sur une travailleuse du sexe puisse s’inspirer visuellement des impressionnistes français. La fin du XIXème et le début du XXème siècle correspondaient à une époque où les prostituées et les courtisanes avaient leur place, non seulement dans l’art, mais aussi dans la littérature française.
Précisément grâce aux impressionnistes, Igor Lazić, notre directeur de la photographie et moi sommes tombés d’accord sur l’utilisation de plans fixes pour le film. L’autre raison était que je souhaitais que le film ait l’air plus observationnel et le seul moyen d’y parvenir était d’utiliser de longs plans larges statiques pour que le public ne puisse faire la différence entre documentaire et fiction. Nous voulions que les plans extérieurs suivent les motifs des impressionnistes, ainsi Milanka et moi étions scénaristes, producteurs mais aussi régisseurs/repéreurs. Nous avons passé beaucoup de temps à parcourir la Serbie et à prendre des photos de paysages. Grâce au talent de Igor Lazic, les décors choisis dans le film ont pris une dimension magique.

Pouvez-vous nous parler du tournage ? Comment avez-vous accompagné Kristina dans l’interprétation de son propre rôle ? Quelle a été la part d’improvisation ?
Le tournage a duré cinq ans et s’est fait par étapes. A chaque automne, on rassemblait l’équipe et on commençait à tourner, et juste après, je passais au montage et Milanka écrivait les nouvelles versions du scénario. En pratique, le montage et l’écriture étaient concomitants. Nous devions procéder ainsi parce qu’on ne savait pas ce qu’on obtiendrait des scènes d’observation ou d’improvisation, mais on a toujours réussi à intégrer le documentaire dans la fiction et la fiction dans le documentaire. Certains événements à la fois beaux et étranges nous sont arrivés également. Par exemple, avant chaque tournage, nous avions l’idée d’intégrer le motif des pieds nus dans le film, et ensuite, totalement par hasard, des pieds nus sont apparus dans la scène d’hypnothérapie régressive qui a été tournée lors de l’avant-dernière phase sur laquelle nous n’avions aucun impact en raison de son côté strictement observationnel. C’était un signe que nous avions tiré le bon fil rouge lors de l’écriture. J’avais terminé des études de réalisation dans le multimédia et j’ai de l’expérience dans le court-métrage et le documentaire, tout comme dans le théâtre. Or, avec ce film, je cherchais un processus grâce auquel je pourrais trouver des solutions comme on le fait au théâtre. Pour moi, c’était la seule façon d’arriver à quelque chose d’authentique parce que, au cinéma, la réalisation se réduit souvent à la simple mise en espace d’un scénario, et le résultat final est un produit plutôt qu’une œuvre d’art.

Parmi tous les acteurs et toutes les actrices, seuls Marko et Kristina jouent leur propre rôle. Dans quelle mesure a-t-il été nécessaire d’attribuer les rôles secondaires à des acteurs professionnels ?
Tous les rôles n’ont pas été attribués à des acteurs professionnels. Certains sont professionnels, d’autres sont amateurs, et d’autres ne sont pas acteurs du tout. Nous avons engagé des acteurs professionnels pour les rôles avec beaucoup de dialogues, comme le rôle de Mme Maria, à qui Kristina rend visite pour trouver des objets anciens, ou le rôle de la commissaire d’exposition à la Galerie d’Art “Sava Šumanović”. Leurs dialogues reposent sur des faits historiques, donc bien que ces scènes soient fictionnelles, elles sont factuelles. Jelena, qui joue l’amie de Kristina, est également actrice professionnelle et c’est pourquoi, au début du tournage, j’ai plus dirigé Jelena dans leurs scènes communes pour que ce soit plus simple pour Kristina. Leur ami dans le film, Zvonko le peintre, est un acteur amateur, mais en fait il est surtout peintre, ce qui a simplifié son jeu.

Comment avez-vous écrit la très belle scène du confessionnal entre Marko et Kristina ? Est-ce que cette discussion a vraiment eu lieu ?
Quand nous avons décidé que Marko aurait le rôle masculin principal, j’ai compris que leur discussion sur le banc devait être authentique, et je pense que c’était une bonne idée. Puis une tâche complexe est arrivée. Nous nous sommes dit qu’il était important que leur première conversation profonde et honnête ait lieu devant la caméra pour gagner en authenticité. Or, tous deux souhaitaient réellement apprendre à se connaître. Nous avons décidé d’expliquer à Kristina pourquoi il était important qu’elle ne parle pas à Marko avant qu’on tourne cette scène, elle a compris et promis de ne pas rentrer en contact avec lui avant ça. Elle a tenu promesse – car Kristina est comme ça. Seuls quelques dialogues au début de l’échange étaient écrits, et ensuite, ils ont partagé en toute honnêteté des expériences et des points de vue, et derrière la caméra, notre scénariste orientait la conversation vers des sujets dont nous avions besoin pour pouvoir avancer dans l’histoire. Nous sommes très reconnaissants de leur honnêteté dans cet échange.

A la fin du film, Kristina ne rejoint pas Marko et s’en va. Pourriez-vous nous éclairer sur cette fin à la fois ouverte et énigmatique ? Que symbolise-t-elle ?
Milanka, la scénariste, est diplômée en philosophie et elle voulait qu’on traite des notions de fidélité, d’amour et de liberté à travers le film. Notre objectif était de nous demander de quoi nous parlons vraiment lorsqu’on emploie des mots tels que famille, morale, coïncidence et temps, et je crois que nous y sommes arrivés parce que je pense que ce film nous pousse à nous remettre en question tout comme le monde dans lequel on vit, et cette remise en question suffit parce que c’est le début de la prise de conscience.

Propos recueillis par Claire Lasolle

Synopsis

Juliette Dominati Une femme d’une quarantaine d’années, une jeune adulte, une petite fille : Lola, à trois étapes de sa vie. La plus âgée raconte ses souvenirs qu’incarnent les deux...

En savoir +
EP - Les Sentiers Expanded 2022
Synopsis

Tetsuichiro Tsuta Quelque part au Japon, deux hommes vivent dans une maison new age, à travers les vitres de laquelle les reflets et ondulations de la pluie se dessinent en noir et blanc sur les...

En savoir +
Autres joyaux 2022
Synopsis

À vendredi, Robinson organise la rencontre de deux figures majeures du cinéma, que la distance de l’Angleterre à la Suisse n’autorise pas mais à laquelle le montage donne lieu. Mitra...

En savoir +
Sélection officielle 2022
Synopsis

Les œuvres de Minia Biabiany (films, installations, sculptures) s’ancrent dans son expérience de femme guadeloupéenne. Elle revendique un travail situé. Ici ce sont des histoires...

En savoir +
Sélection officielle 2022
Synopsis

Claire Doyon Après un long-métrage consacré à sa fille autiste mutique (Pénélope mon amour, FID 2021), Claire Doyon cherche auprès d’une amie autiste Asperger des réponses à certaines de...

En savoir +
Autres joyaux 2022
Synopsis

La vie des hommes infâmes est un projet de livre qui ne vit jamais le jour mais pour lequel Michel Foucault écrivit une préface. Il s’agissait pour lui de rassembler les traces écrites de...

En savoir +
Sélection officielle 2022
Synopsis

A General Disapointment propose en trois chapitres une méditation existentielle à partir d’un texte conjugué à une suite de longs plans fixes. Ceux-ci mettent en scène le réalisateur...

En savoir +
Sélection officielle 2022
Synopsis

Danielle Arbid travaille au cœur des sentiments, d’un film à l’autre, le tout dernier Passion simple (2021) d’après Annie Ernaux en étant la quintessence. Moins connu est un travail plus...

En savoir +
Sélection officielle 2022
Synopsis

« Obsada » signifie en polonais « équipe de tournage », mais peut aussi signifier « groupe de travail ». L’équipe dont il s’agit ici est double. Celle du film d’abord, devant et...

En savoir +
Sélection officielle 2022
Synopsis

Liv Schulman aime travailler avec des figures qui seraient ses doubles. Après celle de l’enquêteur de sa série policière métaphysique Control, voici un nouvel avatar de l’artiste....

En savoir +
Sélection officielle 2022